BJP wins Karnataka by-polls: Rajdeep Sardesai blames voters, says ‘voters rewarded defectors’

Rajdeep Sardesai(Source: Firstpost)

As BJP sweeps the Karnataka by-polls by maintaining clear leads in 6 seats and winning 6 seats out of the total 15, controversial journalist Rajdeep Sardesai had a hard time believing the fact that the saffron party would continue to remain in power in the state. The by-polls were scheduled following the disqualification of 17 rebel Congress-JDS MLAs that paved the way for the BJP to form government in the state.

With the results declaring BJP’s victory, Rajdeep Sardesai posted a tweet claiming that the Congress party and JDS continue to remain ensnared in faction feuds while the BJP came out as number 1 party in the state. He further stated that voters in Karnataka rewarded the defectors, insinuating that ‘money and state power’ play a significant role in determining the election results.

Rajdeep’s rumblings come at a time when the BJP recently formed government in the state of Karnataka under the leadership of BS Yediyurappa. About 4 months ago, after 17 rebel MLAs from the previous Congress-Janta Dal (Secular) coalition revolted, the BJP staked a claim at the government in Karnataka. Many of the rebel MLAs fought and won the by-polls elections on the BJP ticket.

The by-polls happened on Thursday last week on 15 of the 17 assembly seats that were left vacant after the MLAs resigned in July, leading to the collapse of the Congress-JDS alliance. The BJP currently has 105 MLAs in the 222-member Karnataka assembly, with the support of 1 independent. It needed to bag at least six seats for scoring a majority in the assembly. The Congress and the JDS hold 101 MLAs between them.

As per latest reports, the BJP has already won 6 of the 15 seats, Congress leader DK Shivakumar has stated that his party accepts defeat.

Disqus Comments Loading...