Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Home News Reports Shariat rules: No Halal certification to Pantanjali because of ‘Gaumutra’, no products from NE...

Shariat rules: No Halal certification to Pantanjali because of ‘Gaumutra’, no products from NE because ‘they eat anything’

The Halal India official said that Patanjali products were rejected from being granted halal certificate because of the use of 'cow urine' in their products which is in contravention to the Islamic Sharia Law

Also Read

अनुपम कुमार सिंहhttp://anupamkrsin.wordpress.com
चम्पारण से. हमेशा राइट. भारतीय इतिहास, राजनीति और संस्कृति की समझ. बीआईटी मेसरा से कंप्यूटर साइंस में स्नातक.

A raging controversy about Halal vs Jhatka meat erupted in India when the famous food-chain McDonald’s pronounced that it only served halal meat to its customers. Following this declaration, questions were raised for its total disregard of the customers wanting to have ‘jhatka’ meat. Now, another controversy seems to be in the offing as ‘Halal India’, the halal certification body in India refused to certify Patanjali products stating that animal urine is proscribed from being granted halal status and some of the Patanjali products have cow urine as one of their ingredients.

Read: What is Halal meat? Only Muslims allowed from slaughter to labelling must chant Bismillah Allahu Akbar or meat becomes ‘non-Halal’

Halal is not limited only to the meat industry, even vegetarian products apply for halal certification. A vegetarian food item with ‘halal’ stamped on it means that the product is ‘halal certified’ and it contains no ingredients forbidden for Muslims by Shariat law. It is mandatory for all products to be halal certified, both meat food items and vegetarian food for their sale in International markets, predominantly Muslim countries.

In this regard, OpIndia spoke to the officials of Halal India. Regarding the question about the recent debate where a lady residing in Australia found the halal stamp on a packet of refined wheat flour, the official advocated the halal mark on the packet saying that ‘Halal’ means ‘Permissible’, that is, something which is ‘allowed to be consumed’. He further added that people have a misconception that halal is only related to the manner in which an animal is slaughtered. He said that only those products who don’t affect the health of a human being are given ‘Halal Certificate’. That is those things which do not harm the human body by their consumption.

However, the question here is, who decides that? Whether it is decided according to Ayurvedic rules or whether it is evaluated on a scientific basis, which item should be ‘halal certified’ or not or whether the body will be harmed by its consumption. While defending his organization, the official of Halal India said made a stunning revelation that all these things are decided pursuant to the Islamic law. He made it explicit that ‘halal’ is an Arabic word, so it should be clear that things here are decided based on the rules of ‘Sharia law’. That is, the Islamic Sharia law determines which food items are harmful to the body and which are not.

The official of ‘Halal India’ cited the example of ‘Haldiram’ to further enunciate his point. Talking about the products of ‘Haldiram’ company, he claimed that the company makes around 600 products but people are not aware of all of its products. He said that all the products of ‘Haldiram’ are recognized by ‘Halal India’.

Haldiram uses potatoes to make chips. Potato is grown in the fields, from there it goes to the factory and all kinds of other ingredients are mixed into it and chips are manufactured. The Halal India official was then asked to explain the role of Halal India in granting halal certification to Haldiram chips.

The official of ‘Halal India’ replied saying that ‘colour ingredients’ are also added to such chips products, that give them a special colour. These ‘colour ingredients’ can be synthetic or may have been brought from a place which is not considered correct according to the rules of ‘halal’. The official stated that ‘flavouring agents’ are also added to give flavour, which again may or may not be infringing the halal rules. ‘Halal India’ believes that it is forbidden for both Hindus and Muslims to eat pork, so any product that has even the slightest quantity of pork can never be given a ‘halal certificate,” he declared.

Read: Halalonomics is a deeper conspiracy than it seems: OpIndia talks to Ravi Ranjan Singh, Chairman of Jhatka Certification Authority

Responding to the question on what about those people belonging to different religion who do not consider consuming pork as a taboo and have different eating habits, not necessarily in compliance with Islam, the official said that the organization believes that pork or products derived from it can be used in the manufacturing of other food products and therefore, that food items may not be granted a halal certificate. The official, while describing the process of giving the halal certificate to vegetarian foods, said that his officers visit the factories to find out where the raw materials are procured from and based on their findings, the organisation decides if the product is to be certified or not.

Speaking about the culinary preferences of the people living in North-east India, the Halal India official said that people of the North-East eat snakes, scorpions and even dogs. He asserted that ‘Halal India’ does not consider granting a halal certificate to the food items of the people of North-east states because “those people eat anything”. He said that oil extracted from pork is also used in medicines, but they too cannot be given ‘Halal’ certificate.

About the question regarding the eligibility of Ayurvedic products for recognition from Halal India authority, the official said, “Patanjali approached us to seek ‘Halal Certification’ for its products but due to the presence of some problematic ingredients in their products this certificate could not be given to Baba Ramdev’s ‘Patanjali’. Most of his products are compliant to halal but we have a strong objection over one or two products. Islamic rules say that any animal’s urine if it is in a product, cannot be given a halal certificate. Some of Patanjali’s products contain cow urine and that’s why ‘Halal India’ did not recognize them. If they process cow urine products in a separate factory, then other products can be given a halal certificate.”

Read: Halal certification of vegetarian products: It’s no longer about choice but making others pay for your beliefs

In addition to this, the official of Halal India also told that even products with camel urine cannot be given a halal certificate. When asked if Halal India is only mindful of the feelings of Muslims, the official responded saying that people of Jain religion also live in India and they also have many laws and regulations regarding food and drink. He said that Jain people do not eat onion-garlic and keeping this in mind, there is a separate ‘Regulation Authority’ to certify foods. Halal India does the same for Indian Muslims, he added.

Halal India performs the entire scrutinization process under the supervision of the Sharia Board. The official informed that other international institutions also recognize the food and products recognized by Halal India in their respective countries. Halal India has signed MoU (agreements) with several countries including Singapore, Dubai and Saudi. It represents itself as an organization affiliated to the Government of India.

Though Halal India claims that it places significant importance on factors such as health, examines food products if it adversely affects human body before awarding halal certificate, his claims fall flat when asked if a product that is healthy for human beings but defies Islamic rules and regulations. On the question of if a product is not harmful, but Islamic rules and regulations do not permit it, the official said that even if the product is beneficial to one’s health, people of other religions use it, but the sanction of the halal certificate will be decided according to Islam.

Opindia also approached Patanjali. A female official working at Patanjali confirmed that it had indeed approached Halal India for securing halal certificates for its products. She mentioned that on all their products it is explicitly mentioned whether cow urine is used as one of the ingredients but still they were denied from being granted halal certificates. Opindia also spoke in detail with ‘Doctor Jhatka‘ on the issue of halal being foisted upon people. He said that the halal-certified food is Islamic halal and it is in accordance with the Islamic beliefs but is wrongly projected as universal halal. He also added that far from offering people a legitimate choice to decide between halal and jhatka meat, the government treats jhatka in a discriminating manner and even the Indian parliament offers only halal-certified meat.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

अनुपम कुमार सिंहhttp://anupamkrsin.wordpress.com
चम्पारण से. हमेशा राइट. भारतीय इतिहास, राजनीति और संस्कृति की समझ. बीआईटी मेसरा से कंप्यूटर साइंस में स्नातक.

Trending now

AMU girl complains about being threatened and hounded since CAA was passed, told she will be made to wear “brass hijab”

Calling her a "Sanghi", the fellow AMU students had attacked her for calling out sexualisation of women in the varsity

Islamists issue rape threats to a social media user for asking Muslims to recite Azaan at lower volume

Apart from Fardeen Modal, Ashi's Azaan tweet miffed other Muslims, who also abused the Hindu girl on Twitter

Secret meetings, plan of action and riots: How Safoora Zargar and others are intertwined in the murder of Ratan Lal during Delhi riots

Name of Jamia Millia Islamia student Safoora Zargar appears multiple times in Ratan Lal murder chargesheet

Google head Sundar Pichai, who studied at IIT Kharagpur, is all set to bring a digital revolution worth Rs 75,000 crore in India: Read...

Google, headed by Sundar Pichai, pitches in to help bring about a digital revolution in India

A tribute to Tapan Ghosh: The firebrand leader who helped Muslim women marry their Hindu lovers and secure a happy ending to their love...

Hindutva Icon of West Bengal, Tapan Ghosh, passed away on Sunday, days after he was diagnosed with the Wuhan Coronavirus.

Sharad Pawar, Mamata Banerjee, Jagan and Himanta Biswa: How Congress ignored key regional leaders and eventually lost those states

Choosing loyalists over popularity and calibre has cost Congress dearly. Losing key regional leaders has decimated the party to ruins in many states.

Recently Popular

The curious case of ‘Drone Boy’ who has made 600 drones using broken mixer grinders and televisions. A fact-check

While 'drone boy' Prathap NM has claimed to have made 600 drones using e-waste, not a single photo or video of them exist

‘Drone boy’ Prathap NM makes a statement after OpIndia fact-check: Here is why his explanation makes little sense

'Drone boy' Prathap NM says he won't show his drones due to intellectual property issues, but will show certificates from unregistered events

Sachin Pilot reaches Delhi with 25 MLAs amid speculations of Rajasthan government collapse, Gehlot holds late night meetings

Ashok Gehlot claimed that the State government was stable and would continue to remain so despite all efforts to the contrary

Pakistanis are shocked that Turkish actress does not cover herself head-to-toe in real life like her role in TV show Ertugrul, slams for wearing...

Pakistani Islamists troll Turkish actress Esra Bilgiç for her modern clothing, not traditional dress like her historical role in a TV show

Stand-up comedian apologises for insulting memorial to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj in Arabian sea after MNS workers vandalised studio

The stand-up 'comedian' Agrima Joshua had made scornfully derisive remarks in her video against the Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj memorial that is going to be erected in the Arabian Sea

Aakar Patel abuses Amitabh Bachchan and Sachin Tendulkar – reasons go beyond hatred for Modi

The 'Woke' secular-liberal camp of current times is defined by its elitist arrogance and crass snobbery. 'Human rights activist' Aakar Patel is one such specimen.

Here are the six significant statements by the court today while denying bail to Tahir Hussain, accused in the Delhi anti-Hindu riots

Tahir Hussain had sought bail saying there was no cogent evidence to link him to Ankit Sharma's murder

Nepal PM says Shri Ram was Nepali and India has created ‘fake Ayodhya’, admits scholars will not believe his ‘new fact’

Nepalese Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli claimed that India falsely says Shri Ram was born in Ayodhya, India.

Amidst rising demand to boycott Chinese products, Bollywood actor Karthik Aryan drops multi-crore endorsement deal with Oppo

Karthik Aryan has become the first Bollywood actor to drop a multi-crore deal with a Chinese brand.

AMU girl complains about being threatened and hounded since CAA was passed, told she will be made to wear “brass hijab”

Calling her a "Sanghi", the fellow AMU students had attacked her for calling out sexualisation of women in the varsity

The death of BJP MLA Debendra Nath Roy shows that no opposition political leader is safe in West Bengal

BJP MLA in West Bengal, Debendra Nath Roy, was found hanging in public on Monday.

Why ‘liberal’ hate against Amitabh Bachchan for getting admitted to a hospital after testing positive for Coronavirus makes no sense at all

A bevy of perverse liberals took to Twitter to denounce Amitabh Bachchan after he got Coronavirus, claiming it to be a "privilege of rich" and accusing him of needlessly occupying a hospital bed

London: Indian diaspora, PoK activists and Iranian diaspora protest outside the Chinese embassy over ‘expansionist policies’

Demonstrators were heard singing the Indian National Anthem 'Jan Gan Maan' and the Indian National song, 'Vande Mataram' at the protest site.

AIB co-founder Rohan Joshi, who wanted entire Pawar family dead, deactivates his Twitter account

AIB co-founder Rohan Joshi has deactivated his account after screenshots of his abusive tweets against politicians went viral .

Gehlot’s last ‘resort’? Congress moves MLAs to Jaipur hotel, Pilot claims Rajasthan govt has lost majority

Reports claimed that 107 MLAs, including some independents, were present at the CM's residence. Congress has moved its MLAs to a resort in Jaipur.

In touch with ISIS recruiters since 2015: NIA arrests 2 Islamic State terrorists in Pune planning to carry out terror attacks in India

The duo arrested by the NIA were involved in promoting and propagating ISIS and their activities in India

Connect with us