Friday, April 23, 2021
Home News Reports Chhattisgarh: Ruckus in Congress office as the party releases list of final candidates for...

Chhattisgarh: Ruckus in Congress office as the party releases list of final candidates for upcoming elections

Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Rajasthan and Mizoram are scheduled to go for elections in the coming weeks.

Protests erupted at the Chhattisgarh Congress office yesterday after the party released the last list of candidates for the upcoming legislative assembly elections. The announcement of candidates has upset many within the party which has led to tension in the office.

As per sources, angry supporters of Ejaz Dhabar, who has been denied a ticket from Raipur South constituency, started creating a ruckus and vandalised Congress office. Dhabar was considered a strong candidate, but the ticket was given to Kanhaiya Agarwal, which angered his supporters. Few days back, a video had gone viral in which Dhabar was reportedly seen threatening Chhattisgarh Congress in-charge P L Punia that if he is denied a ticket, he will create a disturbance.

As per reports, party workers also created a ruckus in Bilaspur office over ticket distribution. Among those who are denied tickets is Dr Renu Jogi, wife of former chief minister Ajit Jogi, following which she has joined her husband’s Janata Congress Chhattisgarh.

With elections around the corner, the infighting within Congress has peaked. Yesterday we had reported how swords were drawn between senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh and Jyotiraditya Scindia over candidate selection in poll-bound Madhya Pradesh.

Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Rajasthan and Mizoram are scheduled to go for elections in the coming weeks. First phase of voting in Chhattisgarh will take place on 12th November and second phase elections will be held on 20th November. Mizoram is scheduled to go to polls on 28th November along with Madhya Pradesh. Rajasthan and Telangana will vote on 7th December. The results for all five states will be declared on 11th December.

Out of the five states where Assembly elections are to be held, currently Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh have BJP governments, Telangana has TDP government and Mizoram has Congress government.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Nithyananda bans Indians from entering Kailasa citing Covid-19, issues guidelines for ’embassies’ around the world

Sri Nithyananda of Kailasa has banned travelers from India into his fledgling nation amidst the second wave of the Covid-19 pandemic.

In the last few days, availability of Liquid Medical Oxygen increased by 3300 MT per day: Here’s what was discussed in PM’s high-level meeting

The high-level meeting was attended by the Cabinet Secretary, Principal Secretary to PM, Home Secretary, Health Secretary & Officials from Ministry of Commerce & Industry, Ministry of Road Transport, Pharmaceuticals, and NITI Aayog members.

Prime Minister Modi cancels political rallies on 23rd April in West Bengal, to hold a high-level meeting to review COVID-19 situation

Amidst the raging second wave of the Coronavirus pandemic, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter and informed that he was cancelling his political engagements in West Bengal tomorrow

Indian Air Force, Railways step in to transport oxygen cylinders, essential medicines to combat COVID-19

In a recent virtual meeting, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh was briefed about the measures taken by the Armed Forces in order to combat COVID-19

Congress’ attack against Covishield continues, now spreads fake news of ‘one vaccine, 3 rates’ from official Twitter handle

The previous low price was a part of SII's commitment to GOI and some other countries for sharing the risk of production. After the current 'under contract' 110 million doses are delivered, SII will sell to GOI at Rs 400 per dose, same as states.

18+ can register for Covid vaccination from April 28. Here is the procedure

Registration for Covid-19 vaccine phase 3 for 18-45 years age group to begin on April 28

Recently Popular

Priyanka Gandhi’s Twitter faux pas, takes three attempts for condolence tweet

At 10:38 AM, four minutes after her first tweet, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra tweeted correct condolence message to correct intended recipient on third attempt.

No masks, abuses and ruckus: How a Shiv Sena corporator abuses power to threaten doctors on duty

The doctors of Bhagwati Hospital have threatened to resign after being humiliated by the Shiv Sena corporator.

Sitaram Yechury’s son passes away due to Covid-19

The CPI(M) General Secretary in his tweet thanked all the medical staff who treated his son Ashish Yechury

AAP supported farmer protests hampering war against Covid-19, oxygen supplier writes to GOI saying tankers delayed due to roadblocks by protestors

Inox Air Products said that they are facing delays in Delhi while transporting oxygen due to road blockades by the farmer protestors

NDTV journalist Gargi Rawat Ansari shows how she is willing to sacrifice human lives so propaganda continues to reign supreme

NDTV journalist Gargi Rawat Ansari is married to Yusuf Ahmad Ansari, the great-grandson of former Congress President Mukhtar Ahmad Ansari
- Advertisement -


Connect with us