Home Editor's picks All you need to know about the first phase of the 2019 General Elections

All you need to know about the first phase of the 2019 General Elections

BJP had won 32 of the 91 seat that goes to poll in the 1st phase on 11th April

In the first phase of the General Election, 91 constituencies from Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep go to polls on 11th April 2019.

StateTotal Number of Lok Sabha seats in the stateNumber seats going to poll in the1st phase
Andaman & Nicobar Islands11
Andhra Pradesh2525
Arunachal Pradesh22
Jammu & Kashmir62
Uttar Pradesh808
West Bengal422


The BJP had won 31 seats from these 91 constituencies, the TDP had won 16, YSRC had won 9, the TRS had won 11 and the Congress had won 7 in the last Lok Sabha elections. The TDP and the Congress are expected to lose some seats in this phase of the election while the BJP too is likely to win zero seats from Telangana and Andhra Pradesh, two states from where it had won 4 seats in 2014. The YSRC is expected to make significant gains in Andhra whereas in Telangana, the TRS is expected to win the overwhelming majority of the seats.

- Ad - - article resumes -

The BJP is expected to register a tough competition in the four seats in Odisha and the two in West Bengal where the party will go head to head against the BJP and TMC respectively. BJP and its allies are also expected to turn around the NDA’s fortunes in Meghalaya, Mizoram and Manipur. In Assam, the BJP is expected to retain the seats it had won last time around although it’s unclear the impact the Citizenship Amendment Bill will have in these constituencies. In Tripura, the BJP is expected to win the Constituency after registering a thumping victory in the last Assembly Elections in the state.

In Bastar, Chhattisgarh, the Congress is expected to win where the BJP had secured a victory in 2014. In Uttar Pradesh, Kairana will witness the most significant battle, a constituency where the BJP had lost the bypolls only last year. In Bihar, the NDA is expected to win at least 3 seats in the first phase. In Maharashtra, the NDA appears to be on the ascendancy. In Uttarakhand, where the BJP had won all 5 seats in 2014, there’s a strong possibility that it will repeat its performance this time around as well.

The two seats in West Bengal, the four in Odisha and Kairana in UP will be the main battles in the first phase of the 2019 General Elections.

Help Opindia Reach Every Indian. Share This Post
Support OpIndia by making a monetary contribution

Big Story

Nanavati-Mehta Commission report on Gujarat riots was submitted to Gujarat Chief Minister in 2014 but was tabled today

Don't miss these

2019 World Cup Is Here!

Catch the latest on Cricket World Cup as it unfolds, special coverage by Opindia

Latest articles

Connect with us

Help Opindia Reach Every Indian. Share This Post