Saturday, April 20, 2024
HomeGovernment and PolicyModi government to rename three Andaman islands to honour Netaji Subash Chandra Bose

Modi government to rename three Andaman islands to honour Netaji Subash Chandra Bose

Netaji Subhash had renamed Andaman and Nicobar Islands as Shahid and Swaraj islands after the Japanese forces freed it from the British rule and handed it over to the Indian National Army.

The Central government has decided to rename three islands of Andaman and Nicobar to honour Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose. The Union government is set to rename Ross Island as Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Island, Neil Island as Shahid Dweep and Havelock Island as Swaraj Dweep.

Reportedly, the NDA government has decided to rename these islands as a tribute to one of the country’s tallest leaders Netaji Subash Chandra Bose. The renaming also coincides with the 75th anniversary of Bose having hoisted the national flag in Port Blair.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will announce the new names during his visit to Port Blair on December 30 as the Union Home Ministry is said to have completed all the necessary formalities. Reportedly, a 150-meter flag will also be hoisted apart from a commemorative stamp and coin being released on the occasion.

After the Japanese had captured the islands during the World War II, Bose joining hands with Japan had hoisted the Indian flag in Port Blair on December 30, 1943. Bose had declared these islands to be the first territories of India to be freed from the British rule and had renamed them as Shahid and Swaraj islands.

PM Modi led NDA government has been reviving the legacies and heroics of various national leaders like Sardar Patel, BR Ambedkar, Subash Chandra Bose, who had been otherwise neglected during the Congress era. The legacy of Nehru-Gandhi Parivar had overshadowed the greatness of several national heroes and the Modi government has successfully attempted to bring back the lost stories our national icons.

Earlier this year, PM Modi had hoisted the tricolour at the Red Fort on October 21, commemorating 75 years since Netaji Subhash declared the formation of the Azad Hind Government.

Recently, Prime Minister had inaugurated ‘The Statue of Unity’- world’s biggest statue, dedicated to ‘Iron Man of India’-Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, the country’s greatest statesmen and a unifier, who had been deliberately sidelined during by the Congress during Nehru era.

The BJP government in Uttar Pradesh led by Yogi Adityanath has also initiated the act of restoring the names of ancient cities which were renamed during Muslim invasions in the past. The Yogi Adityanath government had restored the name of Allahabad to Prayagraj. Faizabad district, where the Ayodhya town is located, was also renamed as Sri Ayodhya by the Yogi Adityanath government.

Ayodhra Ram Mandir special coverage by OpIndia

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Recently Popular

- Advertisement -

Connect with us