Friday, April 19, 2024
HomeNews ReportsLive Updates: One person who was standing in a queue to vote in Bengal...

Live Updates: One person who was standing in a queue to vote in Bengal killed after clashes break out between TMC and Congress worker

We will be updating this article with all the latest information during the third phase of polling today.

The 3rd Phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections takes place today, on the 23rd of April 2019. 13 states vote today. The states which go to polls today are Uttar Pradesh, Tripura, Kerala, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, Gujarat, West Bengal, Bihar, Assam, Goa, Jammu and Kashmir and Union Territories Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

It is perhaps the most crucial phase of the elections for the BJP and could prove crucial as to whether it crosses the magic mark of 272 on its own or falls short.

All the 20 seats in Kerala and 26 in Gujarat go to polls today. 14 each in Karnataka and Maharashtra, 5 each in Bihar and West Bengal, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, 7 in Chhattisgarh, 6 in Odisha, 4 in Assam, 2 in Goa, 1 each in Jammu and Kashmir, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu will be voting. Apart from these, the one seat in Tripura for which voting was postponed will also go to poll today. Voting will be held in a total of 117 constituencies across 13 states and 2 Union Territories.

We will be updating this article with all the latest information during the first phase of polling today.

3:30 PM: A man standing in queue to vote is killed after clashes break out between TMC and Congress workers in Bengal.

Former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh casts his vote from Dispur, Assam.

PDP leader and former J&K Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti also casts her vote in Anantnag district, Kashmir. Overall estimated voting in third phase has been 37.89% till 1:30 pm.

1:30 PM: Congress leader Hardik Patel makes a racist comment. Says we want a Prime Minister. If we want a chowkidar, we will go to Nepal.

12:15 PM: Gujaratis dance on their way to cast votes to celebrate the festival of democracy.

Congress leader Hardik Patel casts vote in Surendranagar constituency.

11:30 AM: Samajwadi chief Akhilesh Yadav and other Samajwadi Party leaders rake up the EVM issue, Azam Khan’s son claims 300 EVMs not working while administration clarifies that only 25 EVMs had some glitches which were replaced soon. However, not letting facts get in the way of setting up an excuse Samajwadi Party chief insisted that EVMs are not functioning.

BJP workers reportedly beat up polling officer in Moradabad, Uttar Pradesh alleging he was asking the voters to vote for ‘cycle’ (Samajwadi Party).

11:00 AM: Prime Minister’s mother casts her vote in Gandhinagar constituency. Activist Anna Hazare casts his vote in Ralegaon Siddhi in Maharashtra. Rajya Sabha MP Parimal Nathwani also cast his vote in Jamnagar.

Voter turnout in #Phase3 till 10 AM:
Kerala – 12.51%
Bihar- 14%
Gujarat – 18%
Karnataka- 10.62%
West Bengal – 16.85%
Chhattisgarh – 12.58%
Maharashtra – 6.97%
Dadra and Nagar Haveli – 11.40%
Daman & Diu – 9.93%
Odisha – 7.15%
Tripura – 5.83%
UP – 10.36%
Goa – 11.70%
J&K – 1.59%

10:00 AM: BJP President Amit Shah urges voters to participate and vote in huge numbers. Thanks the voters for voting. Wayanad records polling percentage of 11.87 till 9 am. In 2014, Wayanad had recorded a total voter turnout of 73.26%. Congress President Rahul Gandhi has chosen Wayanad as his second seat for contesting elections which is considered a ‘safe seat’ as compared to Amethi

Voting underway in Wayanad

BJP candidate for Rampur Jaya Prada does a Puja before casting her vote. Congress leader Shashi Tharoor also arrives to cast his vote.

9:30 AM: BJP President Amit Shah, who is also contesting the Lok Sabha elections from Gandhinagar constituency casts his vote. Earlier senior BJP leader L K Advani held the seat which the BJP has been winning for almost two decades. After casting his vote, he moved on to another booth and meet and interact with voters and booth workers. Voting has also begun in Wayanad, Kerala where Congress President Rahul Gandhi is contesting from his second seat which is believed to be relatively ‘safer’ for his victory.

Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and his wife too cast their votes in Rajkot.

Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan casts his vote in a polling booth in Talcher, Odisha.

Voter turnout till 9 am:

West Bengal: 10.97%
Bihar: 9.35%

9:00 AM: Violence reported in Bengal. As per reports, Trinamool Congress Councillor’s husband allegedly beaten up by TMC and Congress workers. Bombs hurled and huge forces have been mobilised. Reports of ‘supervised voting’ inside booths also pouring in.

Election commission orders removal of the presiding officer in Ratua in Malda district of West Bengal after unknown persons were seen assisting voters at the polling booth.

8:29 AM: Prime Minister Modi casts his vote.

8:21 AM: Prime Minister Modi arrives at the polling booth to cast his vote in Nishan Higher Secondary School in Ranip, Ahmedabad; BJP President Amit Shah also present.

8:00 AM: Prime Minister Modi takes his mother’s blessings at her residence.

7:45 AM: BJP President and party’s candidate from Gandhinagar Parliamentary constituency Amit Shah, near the polling booth at Nishan Higher Secondary School in Ranip, Ahmedabad. PM Narendra Modi will cast his vote at the polling booth, shortly.

7:30 AM: Tojammel Ansari, the husband of Majeda Bibi, Trinamool Congress councillor of ward 7 of Domkal municipality was hit with sticks on the head in before polling began. He was rushed to a hospital in critical condition. One of his associates was hit in the arm. TMC workers alleged that supporters of the Congress and Communist Party of India (Marxist) attacked him with sticks.

7:30 AM: Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives at his mother’s residence in Gandhinagar. He will cast his vote in Ahmedabad, shortly.

Ayodhra Ram Mandir special coverage by OpIndia

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Recently Popular

- Advertisement -

Connect with us