Monday, May 10, 2021
Home Politics All you need to know about phase 5 of Lok Sabha Elections 2019

All you need to know about phase 5 of Lok Sabha Elections 2019

The 5th phase is extremely critical for the BJP and the party is expected to perform well this time around as well.

51 Lok Sabha Constituencies across 7 states will go to polls in the 5th phase of Lok Sabha elections today. The fate of 5 seats in Bihar, 2 seats in Jammu and Kashmir, 4 seats in Jharkhand, 7 in Madhya Pradesh, 12 in Rajasthan, 14 in Uttar Pradesh and 7 in West Bengal will be decided today.

Uttar Pradesh is set to witness one of the most talked about individual battles of this General Election. Voters in Amethi will choose between the scion of the Nehru-Gandhi Parivar, Rahul Gandhi, and Union Minister Smriti Irani. There have been sufficient indicators that the Congress President might lose from the seat that has been his family’s bastion for years. His move to contest from Wayanad, a safe seat considering the demography of the constituency where Hindus are in the minority, was seen in this late. Irani has been campaigning aggressively and it is expected to be a very close contest this time around after a hard-fought contest.

Sonia Gandhi’s Rae Bareli, too, will go to polls on Monday and she is expected to retain her seat quite easily. Except for Amethi and Rae Bareli, the BJP had won the other 12 seats in 2014. Home Minister Rajnath Singh is also contesting from Lucknow which goes to polls today. Samajwadi Party has fielded former BJP leader and currently Congress candidate from Patna Sahib constituency, Shatrughan Sinha’s wife Poonam Sinha against Rajnath Singh. Congress has fielded Acharya Pramod. The other UP seats going to the polls on May 6 are Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Mohanlalganj (SC), Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi (SC), Barabanki (SC), Faizabad, Bahraich (SC), Kaiserganj and Gonda. The BJP is expected to do well in the state in this phase as well although it remains to be seen how many it is able to retain.

Among the other high-profile candidates in the 5th phase are Union Ministers Rathore (Jaipur rural) and Meghwal (Bikaner) in Rajasthan. In Jharkhand, Union Minister Jayant Sinha, son of staunch BJP critic Yashwant Sinha, will be a candidate in this phase. In Madhya Pradesh, Union minister Virendra Kumar Khatik is BJP’s candidate from Tikamgarh.

In West Bengal, Bangaon, Barrackpore, Howrah, Uleberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly and Arambag will go to polls in the 5th phase. BJP candidate from Bongaon (SC) seat, Shantanu Thakur, was injured in a road accident when a police van lost control and hit Thakur’s vehicle when he was heading towards Kalyani to attend an election rally on the last day of campaigning. In Hooghly, the BJP candidate is Locket Chatterjee. A residence she was lodged at recently during campaigning was attacked allegedly by goons associated with the Trinamool as well.

As many as 39 seats of the 51 were won by the BJP in 2014, barring the two won by Congress in its bastions of Amethi and Rae Bareli in Uttar Pradesh, the seven seats in West Bengal which were won by the Trinamool Congress and another 2 which were won by the BJP’s allies RLSP and LJP in the Sitamarhi and Hajipur constituencies. The RLSP since then has gone over to the Congress while the LJP remains an ally of the BJP. Therefore, the 5th phase is extremely critical for the BJP and the party is expected to perform well this time around as well.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Hemkunt Foundation, Rana Ayyub and Jignesh Mevani: How Covid-19 fundraisers could possibly be violating FCRA laws

A deep dive into fundraisers for Covid relief with questionable management which may be violating FCRA laws.

Chinese state media Editor accuses Subramanian Swamy of being ‘ungrateful’ over ‘war on COVID’, it doesn’t go down well for him

Chinese state media Global Times Editor Hu Xijin on Sunday accused BJP leader Subramanian Swamy of being 'ungrateful' after he tweeted that India is...

Patanjali was the first Indian company to publish a research paper on the new Covid-19 drug approved by DCGI: Read details

Patanjali had published a research paper on use of the drug 2-deoxy-D-glucose for Covid-19 treatment in March 2020

West Bengal: BJP leader Swapan Dasgupta files a complaint with the police on targeted persecution of its party workers

Dasgupta in his complaint to the police mentioned on record the names of all 260 victims, some of whom have been unable to return home after the TMC goons unleashed violence post their victory in the state.

Netizens call out actor Sonu Sood’s claims of arranging for plasma, bed for COVID patients

After multiple media reports and social media posts on how Sonu Sood was helping out migrants go back home last year amid the nationwide lockdown, Sood had written an autobiography, 'I am no no messiah'.

Here is how The Lancet used dubious sources to blame Modi Govt for the Covid crisis

Following the abrogation of Article 370, The Lancet had issued a strong condemnation of the Indian Government.

Recently Popular

Meet AAP’s ‘Delhi ke Nirmata’: Who is Navneet Kalra, the businessman on the run after oxygen hoarding scandal was busted

Oxygen Concentrators have been found at Khan Chacha, Nege & Ju bar and Town Hall restaurants in Delhi, all owned by Navneet Kalra

Arvind Kejriwal govt expels 7 journalists from Whatsapp group after report critical of govt handling of oxygen crisis, senior journalists keep mum

The Arvind Kejriwal government has been the darling of the media for a long time but it seems to want absolute devotion

Comedian Sanket Bhosale who had featured in ad mocking Rahul Gandhi booked for violating Covid-19 norms in Punjab

A week after the vandalism by the Congress workers in Mumbai, the Congress-led Punjab government has now booked comedian Sanket Bhosale, the actor featured in the advertisement, on the pretext of violating Covid-19 regulations during his wedding.

‘Dominance of one religious group cannot prevent religious celebrations of other’, says Madras HC after local Muslims object to Hindu procession

The Madras High court concluded that similar acts of 'resistance' by other religious groups would result in loss of lives, destruction of properties, riots, religious fights and chaos.

Chinese research paper, published 6 years ago by Chinese military backed authors, discussed weaponising Coronavirus: Reports

A 2015 research paper by Chinese scientists reveals nefarious plans to weaponise the SARS Coronavirus against the world.

Call girl from Thailand passes away in Lucknow due to Covid-19, had come to India recently with help from agent Salman

A call girl from Thailand has passed away in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh at the Lohia Hospital due to Covid-19.
- Advertisement -


Connect with us