Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeSportsCricketKedar Jadhav fit, no changes in India's World Cup Squad

Kedar Jadhav fit, no changes in India’s World Cup Squad

India will start their campaign against South Africa on June 5.

The speculation over the final squad of Team India for World Cup is over. On Monday Indian team’s physio Patrick Farhart declared Kedar Jadhav fit in his report to BCCI.

The all-rounder had suffered a shoulder injury during Chennai’s match against Punjab in IPL on May 5. Jadhav passed a fitness test conducted by Farhart at the MCA’s BKC facility.

Had Jadhav declared unfit, the selection panel would have picked a replacement from the five standbys: Rishabh Pant, Ambati Rayudu, Ishant Sharma, Axar Patel and Navdeep Saini.

Many former cricketers and experts believed that Pant should have been selected for the World Cup.

“If you can put Rishabh up at No. 4, he’ll score runs for you because he’s just so talented,” Ganguly said. “He’s got so much time to play fast bowling that you can’t see Rishabh Pant failing at the top level. And he hasn’t actually. In his short career, he’s been remarkable for India, and once gets more opportunities, he’ll be a very different player.”

India will start their campaign against South Africa on June 5.

India’s schedule for World Cup 2019:

June 5 (Wednesday): v South Africa at The Rose Bowl, Southampton
June 9 (Sunday): v Australia at Kennington Oval, London
June 13 (Thursday): v New Zealand at Trent Bridge, Nottingham
June 16 (Sunday): v Pakistan at Old Trafford, Manchester
June 22 (Saturday): v Afghanistan at The Rose Bowl, Southampton
June 27 (Thursday): v West Indies at Old Trafford, Manchester
June 30 (Sunday): v England at Edgbaston, Birmingham
July 2 (Tuesday): v Bangladesh at Edgbaston, Birmingham
July 6 (Saturday): v Sri Lanka at Headingley, Leed

Indian Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami.

Ayodhra Ram Mandir special coverage by OpIndia

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Recently Popular

- Advertisement -