Ahmed Patel to RS – the mother of all Rajya Sabha elections: what to expect

On Tuesday, 176 out of 182 MLAs of Gujarat, with 6 Congress MLAs having resigned to join the BJP a few days back, will vote for 3 Rajya Sabha seats up for reelection. For the 3 seats, there are 4 contenders. One of these seats is of Ahmed Patel, whose nervousness is palpable from the fact that Congress has gambled Gujarat (which goes for elections in November this year) to save Ahmed Patel’s seat.

After taking the 44 Congress MLAs to a luxury resort in Bengaluru just when Gujarat was inundated with floods, the 44 MLAs were brought back to Gujarat early on Monday. From Ahmedabad airport, they were transported to a luxury resort in Anand where they celebrated Rakshabandhan. On Tuesday, they will be brought directly from this resort to Gandhinagar to vote. As of now, strength of Congress MLAs has come down from 57 seats to 51 seats.

BJP has fielded Balwantsinh Rajput, former Chief Whip of Gujarat Congress in assembly against Ahmed Patel. The other two BJP candidates are Smriti Irani and BJP President Amit Shah, both heavyweights in their own way, whose victories are almost certain.

- Advertisement - - Article resumes -

In a further turn of events, two NCP MLAs may also vote for Rajput (and not Patel) tomorrow.

If that was not enough of a blow to Ahmed Patel, Nalin Kotadia, lone MLA of the now disbanded GPP (Gujarat Parivartan Party) was seen with BJP leaders on the eve of Rajya Sabha elections. He was also one of the known faces in the Patidar agitation that shook Gujarat politics two years back.

Earlier today, in a Facebook post, Kotadia also sought “guidance” from Patidars on whom to vote for in today’s Rajya Sabha elections.

Meanwhile the speculations get more and more interesting with Supreme Court refusing to stay NOTA for Rajya Sabha elections in Gujarat.

Gujarat is seeing voting for Rajya Sabha seats for the first time since 1996. Till now, all the Rajya Sabha elections were uncontested. Voting for the 3 high stake seats will begin today at 9 am and will end at 4 pm. The counting will begin at 5 pm, one hour after conclusion of voting.

As of now, the bus carrying 44 Congress MLAs has left the resort in Anand where they were kept since yesterday morning. The day is going to be quite eventful!

Politically incorrect. Author, Flawed But Fabulous.

Share and Support:
Support OpIndia by paying for content

Most read articles recently

Statue of all ironies: Pritish Nandy uses example of fake news to spread fake news

Pritish Nandy shared a fake image which was earlier shared by Youth Congress leader

West Bengal: TMC workers ‘purify’ the ground with Gangajal and cow dung after BJP holds a rally in Cooch Behar

TMC workers sprinkled Gangajal after applying cow dung on the ground where the rally was held.

Uttar Pradesh: Samajwadi party leader detained after being caught on camera assaulting BJP spokesperson

Political leaders who are the so-called representatives of our country have often been seen indulging in such pettiness

2018 Assembly Elections: Here are the BJP internal survey numbers

The final results of all states are to be released on 11th December.

Raghuram Rajan backed yet-to-be functional Krea University among 19 new institutes to get ‘Institute of Eminence’ tag

The earlier list which featured yet-to-be-functional Jio Institute was announced, the HRD ministry was mercilessly mocked

25 Lakh fake beneficiaries found in Anganwadis of UP, Maharashtra and Assam

The Ministry of Women and Child Development had ordered the survey of Anganwadi Schemes after the crackdown of Assam government on ghost beneficiaries.

Bihar: retired IG’s daughter commits suicide a day before her marriage, investigation underway

A doctor by profession, the IG's daughter was about to get married the next day with the Kishanganj District Magistrate

Congress tweets about ‘International Anti-Corruption Day’, Twitter users remind them of their own legacy

Amusingly, former Congress President Sonia Gandhi's birthday falls on 'International Anti-Corruption Day'

India resolute to bring back Vijay Mallya, sends a joint ED and CBI team to London to appear for his extradition proceedings

The Indian government has been trying hard to extradite Vijay Mallya after he ran away to the UK on March 2, 2016
Image Source: Patrika

Over 10 lakh people gathered for the Muslim congregation event against permission of 2 lakh people in Bulandshahr

District Magistrate had issued multiple notices and warning to the organisers of the event after there was a surge in the crowd.

Latest articles

Connect with us


Don't miss these