Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeNews ReportsTop BJP leaders present as Biplab Deb is sworn in as new Chief Minister...

Top BJP leaders present as Biplab Deb is sworn in as new Chief Minister of Tripura

BJP stalwarts like Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party president Amit Shah, and veteran leaders like Murli Manohar Joshi and L.K. Advani were among the plethora of leaders who landed in Agartala for the swearing-in ceremony of the new saffron government in Tripura after 25 years of communists rule.

The BJP-IPFT alliance secured 43 out of the 60 seats in the North Eastern state where the BJP had failed to win even a single seat in 2013 and lost deposits in 49 of the seats it contested.

Biplab Kumar Deb took oath as the new Chief Minister of Tripura and Jishnu Dev Burman was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state. Fulfilling his pre-poll promise, Narendra Modi registered his presence in Agartala for the ceremony.

Narendra Modi, in his speech, remarked that the Tripura Assembly elections of 2018 was one such election that will spoken of for years and years to come. For the BJP, the victory in the erstwhile Left bastion signified a huge ideological victory over their nemesis.

He called it a historic day and heartily congratulated the members of the new government that was sworn in. “Today is a historic day for Tripura. It feels like the state is celebrating Diwali. We are lighting the lamp of progress and prosperity. There is new vigour and enthusiasm here. I congratulate all those who have taken oath and wish them the very best as they begin their work,” said the Prime Minister.

Among other present at the swearing in ceremony were BJP general secretary Ram Madhav and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, and Chief Ministers of many BJP ruled states.

Ayodhra Ram Mandir special coverage by OpIndia

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Recently Popular

- Advertisement -