Congress hit with internal turmoil while deciding Karnataka election candidate list

The Congress party has had difficulties in deciding its first list of candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in the state, owing to supposed internal turmoil within the party. As per reports, differences cropped up between the members of the central election committee (CEC) of the party when it met on Friday.

The elections in Karnataka will be held on 12 May with the votes being counted on 15 May. Reports have claimed that the party would release the names for about 180 seats out of a total 225.

The CEC meeting chaired by Congress president Rahul Gandhi met twice, and for hours deliberated on the candidate selection. After failing to come to a consensus, the CEC decided to meet the next day.

- Advertisement - - Article resumes -

The disagreement over the candidates supposedly stemmed over the seats currently held by rebel JD(S) members who have joined the Congress. Issue was also taken over incumbent Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s decision to contest from two seats.

The report claims that Siddaramaiah wishes to contest from the Chamundeshwari seat in Mysuru district and Bagalkot district’s Badami seat. This has been objected to by the senior members of the party like – Mallikarjun Kharge and Veerappa Moily who feel this move will send a negative message to the electorate.

Though it is being claimed that Rahul Gandhi has overruled the objections and given a go-ahead for Siddaramaiah to contest from those two seats by citing “interests of the party”.

Another point of protest from the senior Congress leaders has been with regards to giving rebel JD(S) leaders a ticket to contest the polls. They assert that the tickets should be given to those who have served the Congress for several years. Apprehensions were also cast on the loyalty of the new inductees.

Issue has also been taken over the possibility of giving tickets to the family members of CM Siddaramaiah, state Congress chief G Parameswara and some senior ministers.

Now as per latest reports, the Congress seems to have overcome its differences and finalised its candidate list.

Share and Support:
Support OpIndia by paying for content

Most read articles recently

‘Will not develop areas which did not vote for me’: Rajasthan Congress MLA shortly after winning

Rajender Singh Bidhuri fought and won a close battle against BJP MLA Suresh Dhakad with a margin of 1661 votes.

Here is why BJP lost elections, and of course, it was deliberate

What BJP supporters need to realise is this - no political party ever wants to lose and least of all, a party led by the two most politically aggressive politicians the country has ever seen.

Ranchi: Court summons Rahul Gandhi for his defamatory remarks against Amit Shah

The petitioner submitted that the statement by Rahul Gandhi against Amit Shah had hurt his sentiments and tarnished the image of the party.

India cannot turn into Islamic Nation, only Modi can understand gravity and do needful: Meghalaya HC

There should be uniform law for all Indian citizens, and anybody opposing the Indian laws and constitution cannot be considered as citizens of the country, Meghalaya High Court noted

BJP has lost the digital and social media edge, but it is not too late to recover

Talented supporters are BJP's key asset. If things start moving now BJP will be able to recover the edge lost by 'IT cell'. The time to act is now.
Modi government vindicated, SC says Rafale Deal clean

SC verdict on Rafale deal: Read scathing comments made by Court while dismissing petitions for inquiry

Supreme Court dismissed petitions for an enquiry into Rafale deal pricing, offset partner selection and procurement procedure. Read scathing observations

Priyanka Gandhi part of selection process of Congress CM in the state where her husband faces probe

Priyanka Gandhi's husband, Robert Vadra, was recently summoned for the third time by the Enforcement Directorate in the Bikaner land deal money laundering case after he missed the first two.

Congress friendly journalist wishes death upon BJP Delhi spokesperson Tajinder Bagga

During the run-up to Gujarat assembly elections last year, Trivedi was caught spreading morphed images with Amit Shah's fake quotes on Patidars

For all his angst against Adani, Rahul Gandhi chose Kamal Nath who rallied behind Adani for power plant in Chhindwara

Kamal Nath is believed to be close to Gautam Adani, whom Rahul Gandhi has frequently accused of being a 'crony capitalist'

BJP’s real woes: Lessons from the electoral semi-finals

The prolonged silence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah on election results was very telling. The results were clearly unexpected and possibly led to prolonged internal discussions on the future course of action.

Latest articles

Connect with us


Don't miss these