Sunday, April 11, 2021
Home News Reports Government serves eviction notices to over 200 former MPs who continue to occupy Lutyens...

Government serves eviction notices to over 200 former MPs who continue to occupy Lutyens bungalows

More than 200 former MPs have still not vacated the government bungalows allotted to them

It has been over 2 months since the 16th Lok Sabha assembly has dissolved. However, Congress leader Anand Sharma yesterday took to Twitter to express his frustration with the central government’s order to vacate government provided bungalows and accommodation to the former Member of Parliament of the 16th Lok Sabha.

A Lok Sabha panel on Monday had cracked a whip on the 16th Lok Sabha Members of Parliament who were not re-elected in the 17th Lok Sabha, who are overstaying in their official bungalows even after 2 months since the dissolution of the house. The panel has given an ultimatum to the non-complying parliamentarians to vacate their official houses in 7 days. The chairman of the Lok Sabha Housing committee, C R Patil said that the meeting concluded with the decision that within 3 days power, gas and electricity will be snapped in these official residences.

This has not gone down well with senior Congress leader Anand Sharma who was quick to express his disapproval of the move. Terming Supreme Court order’s adherence as a Prime Ministerial diktat, Sharma described the decision to vacate the accommodation in 7 days as harsh, arbitrary and discriminatory. He went on to claim that former MPs get a pension less than peons. Drawing a parallel with bureaucrats, Sharma stated that Secretaries to the government are allowed to retain their accommodation for 6 months but former legislators are not.

In a bizarre rant, Sharma continued asking PM if he wants Indian MPs to be rich and corrupt. He asserted that the honest former MPs have families to support and thus they should be allowed to have official accommodation.

The Supreme Court had mandated to vacate the government allotted accommodation in 1 month after the dissolution of the Lok Sabha. On May 25, 2019, President Ram Nath Kovind had dissolved the 16th Lok Sabha with immediate effect on the recommendation of the Union Cabinet after the Modi government was formed for a second term. It has now been close to 3 months since the house was dissolved but a large number of former MPs have still not vacated their official residences.

The 17th Lok Sabha saw more than 260 MPs who have been elected for the first time in the lower house of the parliament such as cricketer Gautam Gambhir, actors Mimi Chakroborty and Nusrat Jahan Ruhi. According to the sources, more than 200 former MPs have still not vacated the government bungalows allotted to them in 2014. For this reason, the newly elected MPs are being housed in temporary accommodation, which is costing extra money to the exchequer.

This is not the first time former MPs have refused to vacate their houses despite not being re-elected. After 2014 elections also, a larger number of MPs had refused to leave their houses and it took a long time and lots of efforts in getting the houses vacated to accommodate newly elected MPs.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Shambhu priest death case: Protestor dead in police action, shops on temple land to remain sealed and finally Rajasthan govt agreeing to order probe

A probe has been initiated by Rajasthan government after 10-day agitation led by BJP leader Kirodi Lal Meena

Hindu activists in Kerala object to Muslim League flags outside Temple, stop movie shoot, arrested: Read details

One of the scenes showed a girl dressed in traditional Hindu attire exiting the temple and being attracted to a man of a different religion (Islam).

Rahul Gandhi decides to campaign in West Bengal, but in one constituency, only hours before ‘silence period’ kicks in: How it might impact Congress

Congress Scion Rahul Gandhi will be visiting West Bengal on April 14 in the hopes to turn around his party's political fortunes.

Farmer Protest supporters demand release of multiple-murder accused Jagtar Singh Johal, use a special ‘Toolkit’ to ‘#FreeJaggiNow’

Supporters of Jagtar Singh Johal are using Farmers Protests for their own agenda demanding release of the multiple murder accused

Senior doctor in-charge of COVID-19 ward in Bhopal resigns after Congress leader and sidekick misbehave with him, hospital staff: Full details

Congress leader P C Sharma along with a local corporator Guddu, can be seen misbehaving with a senior doctor Yogendra Shrivastav in Bhopal

Asked BARC to pay if they wanted to avoid torture: Sachin Vaze, money laundering and the Rs 30 lakh bribe in TRP case

Citing sources, TOI reported that BARC officials had admitted to the ED about making such a payment to Sachin Vaze via an inspector.

Recently Popular

USA: Police officers show up at Twitter user’s home for criticising Congresswoman AOC on social media, her spokesperson denies involvement

Two policemen visited the home of an American citizen for tweeting against Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (AOC).

Maharashtra Congress leader slams Aaditya Thackeray for clearing Rs 3,693 crores to renovate bungalows of Shiv Sena corporators

Janardan Chandurkar requested governor to intervene after Aaditya Thackeray allotted Rs3,693 crores to Shiv Sena corporators

Watch: Arnab Goswami’s special message for Barkha Dutt after Sachin Vaze lands in Taloja Jail

Without explicitly naming Barkha Dutt, Arnab Goswami slammed the journalist for celebrating his unlawful arrest.

Prashant Kishor says internal survey shows BJP win, hails PM Modi, admits TMC’s Muslim appeasement politics: Here is everything he said on Clubhouse

"Major problem that we have to accept is that there have been efforts for the last 20 years to appease the minorities," said Prashant Kishor

Lutyens journalist speaking ‘truth to the power’ by discussing Mamata Banerjee’s toilet routine

An embarrassed Prashant Kishor jokingly asked the Lutyens journalist, "Am I expected to answer this also?"

Massive win for Arnab Goswami as Mumbai Police terminates all chapter proceedings against Republic media network: Read details

Republic TV has announced that all chapter proceedings initiated by the Mumbai Police have bow been terminated.
- Advertisement -


Connect with us