Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Home News Reports West Bengal: TMC goons go berserk in Kolkata, attack rebel party leaders who defected...

West Bengal: TMC goons go berserk in Kolkata, attack rebel party leaders who defected to the BJP

TMC leader Saugata Roy claimed, "It was a spontaneous protest of the people of the area. Sunil has won the ticket twice from the TMC. He has betrayed our party.

On Saturday, a clash broke out between BJP and TMC workers after the latter launched an unprovocative attack against the new entrants to the saffron party outside the BJP’s main election office in Hastings in Kolkata, West Bengal.

As per reports, the situation became tense when Sunil Mondol arrived at the BJP office. Prior to his arrival, the TMC workers had set up a stage near the saffron party’s office and began their protest. Although the police personnel tried to disperse the TMC mob, they were highly outnumbered. They ambushed the vehicle of the BJP leader, preventing him from stepping into the office.

A scuffle thus broke out between the two sides but the police failed to control the situation. Soon, additional police forces were deployed and the situation was pacified. It was only after that Sunil Mondol was able to step foot into the party office. Several BJP stalwarts such as MP Arjun Singh, Locket Chatterjee, Kailash Vijayavargiya and Dilip Ghosh eventually held meeting at their main election office in Hastings. They condemned the ‘planned conspiracy’ and alleged police complicity in the incident.

Political reactions on the incident

BJP MP Arjun Singh said, “Some TMC activists, who were participating in a programme there, blocked his car. They sat on the road to stop him from going to our office. They also banged the window panes, pelted his vehicle with stones.” Reacting strongly to the ambush of his car by TMC goons, Sunil Mondol said, “This only shows the true colour of the TMC. They don’t believe any democratic norm. Is this a way to treat a people’s representative.”

In his defence, TMC leader Saugata Roy claimed, “It was a spontaneous protest of the people of the area. Sunil has won the ticket twice from the TMC. He has betrayed our party. So the TMC supporters stopped his car and staged a spontaneous protest. Nothing was planned.”

BJP lodges complaint against the TMC

In a complaint to the Hastings police station, the BJP Vice- President (West Bengal) Pratap Banerjee stated, “This morning we were shocked to find that the ruling TMC party has set-up a stage right in front of our Hastings Party office. Today there are a few party meetings along with facilitation of many members. It is very clear that this provocative act of the TMC is with the sole purpose of disturbing the peace of the area and creating a law and order situation.”

Complaint by the BJP to the Hastings police station

The party emphasised, “We are very sure that this provocative act has been done with getting any prior approval of your police station as such permission in normal course could have been given. We call upon you to immediately take steps to have this stage removed, ensure that TMC do not hold any gathering of people and also deployment of appropriate deployment of force to maintain law and order.’

TMC leaders desert party to join the BJP

The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) in West Bengal is in a state of political turmoil, with several heavyweight lawmakers deserting the party. A long list of TMC leaders, along with 4 others from the Left and Congress, joined the BJP, in the presence of BJP leader Amit Shah in Midnapore on December 19. Several MLAs and party leaders from TMC, Congress and left parties joined BJP along with Adhikari. The major leaders who joined BJP in West Bengal are:

  1. Burdwan Purba MP Sunil Mandal, TMC
  2. Former minister and Tamluk MLA Suvendu Adhikari, TMC
  3. Kanthi Uttar MLA Banasri Maity, TMC
  4. Kalna MLA Biswajeet Kundu, TMC
  5. East Bardhaman MLA Saikat Panja, TMC
  6. Barrackpore MLA Shilbhadra Datta, TMC
  7. Ghazole MLA Dipali Biswas, TMC
  8. Nagrakata MLA Shukra Munda, TMC
  9. Tamluk MLA Ashok Dinda, CPI
  10. Haldia MLA Tapashi Mandal, CPIM
  11. Purulia MLA Sudeep Mukherjee, Congress
  12. Former MP Dasharath Tirkey, TMC
  13. Ex minister Shyamapada Mukherjee, TMC
  14. Former MLA Satyen Roy, TMC

Apart from these, several panchayat-level lawmakers and ardent followers of TMC MLA Suvendu Adhikary are also joining BJP. They include Kaberi Chattopadhyay, Snehashish Bhowmik, Akashdeep Singh, Tanmoy Roy, Ranjan Vaidya, Dev Mohapatra and Sukumar Das. The saffron party will also be joined by Congress leaders such as Sudip Kumar Mukherjee and Sanmay Banerjee. Former vice-chancellor of Gour Banga university Gopal Mishra also joined BJP today. A large number of politicians from TMC and other parties also joined the party.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

‘Is your father a mali or chowkidar? I will cancel your license, H*r*m*zade’: Maneka Gandhi threatens vets in viral audios

The Indian Veterinary Association in a letter have condemned the unruly behavior and unparliamentary language used by Maneka Gandhi against animal doctors.

Pakistan: Blast near terrorist leader Hafiz Saeed’s house in Lahore leaves 2 dead, 12 injured

Investigations are on whether the blast was due to pipeline burst or cylinder or it was just an inadvertent bomb blast near terrorist leader's home.

Kerala, Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu continue to be the epicentre of Covid-19, account more than half new cases in the country

As many as 12,617 new Covid-19 were reported in Kerala in the last 24 hours. Maharashtra has recorded 8,470 cases in the last 24 hours.

‘Yogi can get me killed too’: Poet Munawwar Rana goes on deranged rant over mass religious conversion case

Calling the mass conversions case a plot by Yogi Adityanath to win the upcoming state assembly elections, Rana mocked Hindus for getting converted for a small amount of money.

Kerala CPM expels Christian member who questioned conversion of his wife and son to Islam

He had alleged that Nazeera, a Panchayat member, and her husband Younus, an employee of Calicut University were the masterminds behind the alleged forced religious conversion.

Recently Popular

Ravish Kumar appears massively frustrated as India administers 85 lakh COVID vaccines in single day, this is why he does not make sense

Ravish Kumar goes on a ranting spree to hate on PM Modi by camouflaging propaganda as 'criticism' over COVID-19 vaccination

How Venkatesh Prasad is winning hearts with his ‘Sanghi’ posts, one tweet at a time

Venkatesh Prasad demonstrated the Surya Namaskar for his followers, performed in deference to the Sun God.

Oxfam says reporting rape cases harms black and marginalised people, blames ‘privileged white women’ for root causes of sexual violence

Oxfam says that fighting against sexual assault legitimises criminal punishment, which harms black and other marginalised people

After being slammed by Bombay HC for lack of evidence, Mumbai police names Arnab Goswami as an accused in second TRP chargesheet

Republic TV had submitted before Bombay HC that Mumbai Police have deliberately not named Arnab Goswami in charge sheet to keep the investigation open

Video of a person making anti-India comments circulated on social media falsely claiming that it is the founder of Himalaya Drug Company

Muhammad Manal, the founder of HImalaya Drug Company died in 1986, and the person in the viral video is one Naqi Ahmed Nadwi
- Advertisement -


Connect with us