Saturday, April 17, 2021
Home Politics West Bengal: BJP fields Union Minister Babul Supriyo from Tollygunge, likely to contest against...

West Bengal: BJP fields Union Minister Babul Supriyo from Tollygunge, likely to contest against Mamata Banerjee

BJP has also named Lok Sabha MPs Locket Chatterjee and Nisith Pramanik, and Rajya Sabha MP Swapan Das Gupta for the assembly elections

Minister of State for Environment, Forest and Climate Change Babul Supriyo is set to contest from the high-profile Tollygunge constituency in South Kolkata in the upcoming West Bengal assembly polls.

According to the reports, Babul Supriyo, currently a Member of Lok Sabha from the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency, will be contesting from the Tollygunge constituency. It was earlier reported that West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee might also contest from Tollygunge, in addition to the Nandigram constituency.

There were reports that Mamata Banerjee is likely to contest from a second seat and may file her nomination from Tollygunge as well. Mamata Banerjee, who has already filed her nomination from Nandigram on Wednesday, is looking for a safe second seat as the party is not positive about her victory against Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram.

Top TMC sources have confirmed to Sunday Guardian that Mamata Banerjee is considering to contest from Tollygunge after suffering an injury, making it tough for her to campaign aggressively in Nandigram. Interestingly, Mamata Banerjee, who announced the TMC candidates’ list for the first phase of the assembly elections on March 5, indicated that she could later consider contesting from a second seat – Tollygunge.

“Mamata Banerjee is currently injured. Her leg is bandaged, which will restrict her movement for some days. This will also restrict her campaigning in Nandigram. She does not want to take any chances, which is why Tollygunge is being considered as the second seat from where Didi is likely to contest,” a source from TMC said to Sunday Guardian.

With the BJP announcing that Babul Supriyo would contest from Tollygunge, it will be an interesting battle between the BJP and TMC, if at all Mamata Banerjee decided to contest from Tollygunge as well. Currently, the seat is held by TMC MLA Arup, Biswas, who has won three times from the constituency.

Swapan Das Gupta to contest from Tarakeshwar, Actor Yash Das Gupta gets BJP ticket

In addition to Supriyo, the BJP has fielded some interesting candidates for the West Bengal elections. Journalist-turned-politician Swapan Das Gupta, who is currently a nominated Rajya Sabha member, has been fielded from the Tarakeswar Assembly seat. BJP MP Nisith Pramanik has been fielded from the Dinhat constituency.

Meanwhile, Hooghly MP Locket Chatterjee will also fight the assembly elections from Chunchura. Bengal actor Yash Das Gupta. who had joined BJP recently, will contest from Chanditala. Yash Das Gupta is a very close friend of TMC MP and actor Nusrat Jahan. BJP has also fielded economist Ashok Lahiri from Alipirduar.

The Election Commission had announced that West Bengal will go to the polls in 8 phases. The elections to 294 assembly seats in the state will start from March 27 till April 29. The counting of votes will be held on May 2.

Trending now

TMC’s Derek O’Brien opposes EC’s Covid campaign restrictions, says new rules very suitable to ‘Lutyens bungalow’ residents

TMC leader Derek O'Brien criticized the Election Commission's new Covid restrictions in a press conference today.

EC extends election campaign ban before polls in West Bengal to 72 hours, no campaigning allowed after 7 PM

In view of the worsening Covid-19 crisis in the country, the Election Commission has extended restrictions on campaigning for polls

BLM co-founder attempts to defend herself from criticism over buying property worth over million dollars, netizens point out Marxist hypocrisy

BLM co-founder Patrisse Khan-Cullors has been heavily criticised recently for buying a series of properties worth millions

Shekhar Gupta’s ThePrint accuses the centre of issuing diktats to states on COVID-19, which is far from the truth

ThePrint ignores that apart from the initial nationwide lockdown, centre has given every flexibility to states on the ward against COVID-19

Rally of dead bodies, threats against CRPF, lying and scaring with ‘detention camps’ so people don’t vote: What viral audio of Mamata Banerjee means

Mamata Banerjee was heard telling TMC worker Partha Pratim Roy to organise a political rally with the dead bodies to stir public sympathy

US intelligence backtracks on Russian bounty claims, here is how media ran unfounded stories to damage Trump’s re-election bid

A June 2020 article in NYT had claimed that Russia is offering money to Taliban-linked terrorists to kill US soldiers, a claim that has now been discredited.

Connect with us


Recently popular

Aaj Tak to air public apology on 23rd April for sharing fake news on Sushant Singh Rajput, pay Rs 1 lac fine: Details

Aaj Tak has been asked by the NBSA (News Broadcasting Standard Authority) to air a public apology for fake news on Sushant Singh Rajput

Karan Johar’s Dharma Production fires Kartik Aryan, not to work with him again: Here is what happened

Dharma Productions said it was pushed to the wall by “unprofessional behaviour” of Kartik Aryan during shooting of Dostana 2

Andhra Pradesh man hacks family of six including two children to avenge the rape of his daughter: Details

Andhra Pradesh police confirmed that the incident was a fall out of a old feud between the accused and the victim family

Pakistan on the verge of civil war as it bans TLP for violent protests over the arrest of its leader and Muhammad cartoons in...

Pakistan Government has taken the decision to ban Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) for their violent protests in the country

TMC’s Mahua Moitra claims wishing Hindus on Hindu new year is ‘radicalisation’

While Moitra wanted to paint everyone who was celebrating the Hindu new year as 'radical', the hate for Hindus was actually more evident in her tweet.

Missionaries converted over 1 lakh people amidst the pandemic, claims to have planted more churches than all the 25 years of their work in...

Missionaries claim they used the distress faced by poor people during the lockdown to convert them to Christianity and build more churches