Home Government and Policy Waters of 3 rivers flowing into Pakistan will be diverted to Yamuna as per Indus Water Treaty: Nitin Gadkari

Waters of 3 rivers flowing into Pakistan will be diverted to Yamuna as per Indus Water Treaty: Nitin Gadkari

As per Indus Water Treaty, 3 rivers are allocated to India and 3 rivers are allocated to Pakistan

In the light of the recent Pulwama attack, India is leaving no stone unturned in its effort to pressurise Pakistan to relinquish its assistance to terrorists. After taking various measures like withdrawing the Most Favoured Nation status and imposing customs duty of 200% on all imports from Pakistan, now Union Minister for Water Resources, Nitin Gadkari has informed that India will stop the flow of waters of three rivers assigned to it as per the Indus Water Treaty into Pakistan. Gadkari asserted that the diverted water will help in nurturing the Yamuna river.

Addressing a rally in Baghpat in Uttar Pradesh, Gadkari had informed that a project is being conceived to divert the waters of 3 rivers flowing into Pakistan into Yamuna. If accomplished, the project would choke the water supply of Pakistan, which is already reeling under the water scarcity distress. As per the Indus Water Treaty, India and Pakistan were assigned waters of 3 rivers each. However, India had been magnanimous in generously allowing the waters of 3 rivers assigned to it to flow to Pakistan.

Gadkari further added that a project is being conceptualised to connect the three rivers and possibilities of transportations in these water channels are being explored. “Water that rightfully belongs to us was flowing into Pakistan. The water of these three rivers belonged to India. We are now conceptualising a project to divert the waters of these three rivers to the Yamuna. There will be enough water in Yamuna,” Gadkari said while laying foundation stones for several water projects in Uttar Pradesh.

- Advertisement - - Article resumes -

Rivers under the Indus Water Treaty

The Indus Water Treaty, signed in 1960, divides the water available in the Indus System of Rivers between India and Pakistan. The treaty gives the Beas, the Ravi and the Sutlej rivers to India, while the Indus, the Chenab and the Jhelum rivers are given to Pakistan. Therefore, this move by India will be according to the provisions of the treaty. The amount of water carried by the three rivers allotted to Pakistan is already more than double the water carried by the three rivers given to India.

Following the Pulwama attack, PM Modi chaired a CCS meet with top security officials and his cabinet. The meet concluded with offering the Armed forces a free rein to exact the revenge at a place and timing of their choice. It also agreed upon mounting an insurmountable diplomatic offence by speaking to representatives of 25 countries, the ambassadors of Arab nations and withdrawing the Most Preferred Nation (MFN) status from Pakistan.

Share This Post With Your Friends & Fans:
We need your support to survive in the media industry. Please consider paying us for the content we produce:

To know more about these payments, please click here.

Don't Miss it: Exit Polls At A Glance

#MakePoliticsFunAgain Catch all the Latest on exit polls results with our summary

Most read articles recently

Here is what may have triggered Rajdeep Sardesai’s own colleague slamming him for being a pliant journalist

Anjana Om Kashyap, one of the Editors of Aaj Tak who conducted that interview interestingly took to Twitter today to castigate what appears to be her colleague, Rajdeep Sardesai.

After Anjana Om Kashyap, now Shweta Singh calls out Rajdeep Sardesai’s bias among others

Sweta Singh has called out the blatant bias in the Left media and even Rajdeep Sardesai among others.

Sensing a possible Modi victory, Rajdeep Sardesai proceeds to discredit his own channel’s Exit Poll even before it is aired

Sensing that PM Modi might just come back to power for a second term, he has proceeded to discredit his own channel's Exit Poll which is yet to be aired.

Live updates: Exit polls predict a BJP victory in Lok Sabha polls, now all eyes on May 23

Latest updates and reactions: Who will win? What do the exit polls say? How is media reacting to exit polls?

That time in 2007 when BJP nearly got banned

Can you imagine the kind of outpouring of rhetoric that would happen if the BJP were doing this to the Congress today?

A dystopian future where Hindu nationalists take over: Social media reacts to Netflix’s latest Hinduphobic show ‘Leila’

After Ghoul and Sacred Games, Leila is the third show on Netflix that demonizes Hindus.

After 2019 Exit Polls, Congress official handle also says ‘Aayega To Modi Hi’

Looks like after the 2019 Exit Polls predicted a thumping majority for BJP and PM Modi, Congress too is saying #AayegaToModiHi. 

The side of Rabindranath Tagore that ‘Liberal Intellectuals’ don’t want you to see: Here is what he thought of Islam

Rabindranath Tagore was an extremely complicated man born into an extremely complicated era. Unfortunately enough, he became a victim of the newly minted artificially secular regime's revisionist project

Actor-cum-cocktail politician Swara Bhasker gains 20 sarees and loses 4 brand endorsement deals this election season

Swara Bhasker had extended support to various politicians across political parties with a cocktail of political ideologies
Subscribe to Day's Top Stories

Latest articles

Connect with us


Don't miss these

Share This Post With Your Friends & Fans: