Home News Reports Setback for Mamata? Ex-TMC leader who recently joined BJP says 100 others would follow soon

Setback for Mamata? Ex-TMC leader who recently joined BJP says 100 others would follow soon

Two sitting MPs Saumitra Khan from Bishnupur, and Anupam Hazra from the Bolpur seat had switched to BJP in recent weeks. Several MLAs are believed to be in talks.

BJP leader Arjun Singh, who has recently crossed over from TMC, has stated that about 100 MLAs from the Trinamool Congress will be joining the BJP soon. As per reports, the TMC has declined to offer a counter to his statement and has stated that he should see a doctor.

Arjun Singh, a four-time MLA from Bhatpara, had recently switched to BJP after the TMC denied him the MP ticket from Barackpore. Sitting MP Dinesh Trivedi was given the ticket. Singh had stated that the people of Barackpore were unhappy with the sitting MP and would have preferred him (Singh) as an MP.

Singh is considered a heavyweight leader with a large support base of ground workers and local leaders. His defection to BJP was stated as a considerable loss to Mamata’s party. Singh will be contesting against his TMC rival on a BJP ticket for the Barackpore Lok Sabha seat.

- Advertisement - - Article resumes -

Several TMC leaders have defected to the BJP recently. Two sitting MPs Saumitra Khan from Bishnupur, and Anupam Hazra from the Bolpur seat also had switched to BJP in recent weeks.

Apart from Khan and Hazra, the BJP is believed to be in talks with sitting MLAs Sovan Chatterjee, MLA from Behala east and Sabyasachi Dutta, MLA from Rajarhat New Town. Sovan Chatterjee was a prominent TMC minister till he fell out of favor with Mamata.

Chatterjee and his friend Baisakhi Chatterjee were reportedly threatened by TMC workers and confined to a bungalow. TMC leader Arubrato Mondal had allegedly stated that if Sovan Chatterjee and his friend dared to join BJP, they will be ‘Khallas’ (finished).

The BJP has been campaigning aggressively in West Bengal. TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee also seems to have an assessment of the threat the BJP might pose for her as her government had tried every trick in the book to stop BJP leaders from holding rallies in the state.

The TMC government has attempted to stop BJP leaders Amit Shah, Shivraj Chouhan, Yogi Adityanath, and Shahnawaz Hussain from holding rallies or landing their helicopters under various pretenses. Mamata Banerjee’s government also did not allow the BJP to hold its mega campaigning Rath Yatra in the state last year.

BJP senior leader and national spokesperson Shahnawaz Hussain has been campaigning in West Bengal. Yesterday in his rally in Jalpaiguri, Hussain stated that Bengal will witness a paradigm shift in the coming days.

Share This Post With Your Friends & Fans:
We need your support to survive in the media industry. Please consider paying us for the content we produce:

To know more about these payments, please click here.

Don't Miss it: Exit Polls At A Glance

#MakePoliticsFunAgain Catch all the Latest on exit polls results with our summary

Most read articles recently

Here is what may have triggered Rajdeep Sardesai’s own colleague slamming him for being a pliant journalist

Anjana Om Kashyap, one of the Editors of Aaj Tak who conducted that interview interestingly took to Twitter today to castigate what appears to be her colleague, Rajdeep Sardesai.

Read this before you believe the ABP-Nielsen Exit Poll that gave NDA only 277 while others gave a thumping majority

While all other polls were giving a thumping majority to BJP and NDA, Nielsen chose to "customise" their survey and simply delete voter responses were overwhelmingly in favour of BJP.
Ravish Kumar has a mental breakdown as BJP set to form a government at centre, according to exit polls

NDTV journalist Ravish Kumar has a prolonged meltdown on his show after the Exit Polls predicted a landslide BJP victory

Most of the Exit Polls suggested that BJP may be well placed to form another government at the centre

After Anjana Om Kashyap, now Shweta Singh calls out Rajdeep Sardesai’s bias among others

Sweta Singh has called out the blatant bias in the Left media and even Rajdeep Sardesai among others.

Congress must die: Expelled AAP leader and Swaraj India President Yogendra Yadav

Yogendra Yadav said Congress is single biggest obstacle for creating an alternative

‘Journalists’ now use the fall of the Left in Australia to console themselves and insinuate that Modi can meet the same fate

Shekhar Gupta has hinged his argument that exit polls are untrustworthy based on the recent Australian elections, in which conservative coalition registered a victory against popular opinion and exit polls

After 2019 Exit Polls, Congress official handle also says ‘Aayega To Modi Hi’

Looks like after the 2019 Exit Polls predicted a thumping majority for BJP and PM Modi, Congress too is saying #AayegaToModiHi. 

Sensing a possible Modi victory, Rajdeep Sardesai proceeds to discredit his own channel’s Exit Poll even before it is aired

Sensing that PM Modi might just come back to power for a second term, he has proceeded to discredit his own channel's Exit Poll which is yet to be aired.

Are we jokers?: Miffed, Congress ally and Karnataka CM reveals that the state is mulling law to control electronic media

Kumaraswamy reiterated that the media ignored his good deeds and instead focused on false reports
Subscribe to Day's Top Stories

Latest articles

Connect with us


Don't miss these

Share This Post With Your Friends & Fans: