Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Home News Reports BJD's Naveen Patnaik takes oath as the Odisha CM for the record fifth consecutive...

BJD’s Naveen Patnaik takes oath as the Odisha CM for the record fifth consecutive term

Prime Minister, Narendra Modi through his message assured Centre's complete cooperation to Naveen Patnaik and offered his best wishes to him and his team in fulfilling the people's aspirations

Also Read

OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

The Biju Janata Dal supremo Naveen Patnaik embarked on a record fifth term in power after a clear victory in Odisha’s four-phase Assembly elections which were held simultaneously with Lok Sabha polls.

Governor Ganeshi Lal administered the oath of office and secrecy to Naveen Patnaik and other ministers at 10:30 am at a function in Bhubaneswar today. The swearing-in was held in full public view, in the Exhibition Ground outside the Raj Bhavan.


- article continues after ad - - article resumes -

In the state’s 147-member Assembly, the regional party won 112 seats and returned to power for a fifth consecutive term. BJP won 23 Assembly seats while Congress got only eight. Of the 21 Lok Sabha seats in the state, BJD managed to win 12 while BJP bagged eight and Congress one.

On the eve of swearing in 11 cabinet ministers and nine ministers of state were appointed by the governor on Patnaik’s recommendation. The total strength of the council of ministers in Odisha is 21, including the Chief Minister.

Patnaik’s new ministry will have 10 new faces: Telkoi MLA Premaanda Nayak, Titlagarh MLA Tukuni Sahu (Woman), Nimapara MLA Sameer Das, Jharsuguda MLA Naba Kishore Das, Kotpad MLA Padmini Dian (Woman), Balikuda-Erasama MLA Raghunandan Das, Junagarh MLA Dibyashankar Mishra, Bissam Cuttack MLA Jagannath Saraka, Simulia MLA Jyotiprakash Panigarhi, and Kakatpur MLA Tusharkanti Behera.

The 11 cabinet ministers are: Ranendra Pratap Swain, Bikram Keshari Arukha, Prafulla Mallick, Niranjan Pujari, Padmanabh Behera, Pratap Jena, Arun Kumar Sahoo, Sudam Marandi, Sushant Singh, Naba Kishore Das, and Tukuni Sahu (woman).

- article continues after ad - - article resumes -

The nine Ministers of State are: Ashok Chandra Panda, Sameer Ranjan Dash, Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi, Dibya Shankar Mishra, Premananda Nayak, Raghunandan Das, Padmini Dian (Woman), Tusharkanti Behera and Jagannath Saraka.

Former minister Surya Narayan Patro will be nominated for the Speaker’s post while former minister Pramila Mallick will be appointed as the Government Chief Whip, according to sources.

The role of Chief Whip is regarded as secretive, as the Whip is concerned with the discipline of their own party’s Members of the house and never makes public appearances in their capacity as a whip.

Bikram Arukh, Pratap Jena, Niranjan Pujari, Prafulla Mallick, Ashok Panda and Sushant Singh are among the legislators who retained their ministerial berths.

- article continues after ad - - article resumes -

Meanwhile, a day before taking oath as chief minister, BJD president Naveen Patnaik Tuesday visited Shree Jagannath temple in Puri.

The state leaders of all national and regional parties, top industrialists and investors, and leaders of several organisations of farmers, women, and teachers had been invited to attend Patnaik’s swearing-in ceremony. 7000 invitees were likely to attend the ceremony.

“We have invited everyone. The PM has been invited, too. Those who took part in the ‘Make in Odisha’ initiative and all those who are involved in furthering the state’s interests have been invited,” said BJD spokesperson Pratap Deb.

Patnaik had invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi to the swearing-in ceremony. Though Modi did not attend the function, he congratulated Patnaik through Twitter.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi through his message assured Centre’s complete cooperation to Naveen Patnaik and offered his best wishes to him and his team in fulfilling the people’s aspirations.

Meanwhile, after a landslide victory in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections, Narendra Modi is also set to take an oath for his consecutive second term on May 30.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

Trending now

OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Activist writes to the health ministry and AIIMS Delhi asking to probe blood donation by Bhim Army chief who suffers from a serious blood...

In the letter, the activist has urged the authorities to probe whether Chandrashekhar Azad and his doctor hid his medical condition from AIIMS before donating blood

The UK: Man and son have a lucky escape after a turtle they found on the ground turn out to be live grenade from...

Man grabs his son moments before he was about to pick up a live World War 1 grenade thinking it to be a turtle on the ground

Rajasthan: Salon operator resumes work after giving samples for Coronavirus test, attended 18 customers before confirmed positive

Hairdresser found coronavirus positive when his report came late at night, after he had attended 18 customers in his saloon during the day

Maharashtra government goes all out against Republic TV, orders CID probe against Arnab Goswami and his channel in a two-year-old suicide case

CID investigation ordered against Arnab Goswami by Maharashtra Home Minister in a case which was already closed by court

“We don’t have electricity and water for 6 days” Locals in Kolkata suffer, amidst no administrative help from West Bengal Government

"A person who is suffering can only understand what we are going through. There has been no help from the administration," a local sighed.

Minor girl gang-raped by army constable Shahnawaz Sheikh and his friends in Jharkhand town, one arrested

Minor girl gang-raped by three man in Shahebganj district in Jharkhand when she had gone to an orchard to pick up fallen mangoes

Recently Popular

Mumbai Police issues prohibitory order, to take action against messages on social media: Here is how it curbs criticism against Uddhav Govt

For MLA Aaditya Thackeray too, the most worrying aspect of the pandemic in Maharashtra is the ‘hate on social media'

Paatal Lok morphed image of Yogi, other leaders to show corrupt character in the story: BJP MLA files complaint against Anushka Sharma

Bollywood actress Anushka Sharma is yet to respond to the allegations meted out against her web series Paatal Lok

Delhi: Tanker operators say AAP MLA Prakash Jarwal collected bribes up to Rs 60 lakhs a month

The accusations of graft against AAP MLA Prakash Jarwal came to light after a water tanker owner, Dr Rajendra Singh, committed suicide alleging harassment for payment from the AAP MLA and his aide Kapil Nagar

Fact-check: Did South African Church pastor make congregants drink Dettol to ‘cure coronavirus’

Prophet Rufus Phala of AK Spiritual Christian Church has a history of making his followers drink disinfectants such as Dettol

Rahul Gandhi distances Congress from the Coronavirus mess in Maharashtra, shifts blame squarely to Uddhav Thackeray: Read how

Today, during a press conference held by Rahul Gandhi, he was asked about the Coronavirus pandemic and its spread in Maharashtra and he squarely shifted the blame to Uddhav Thackeray

Connect with us