Rajasthan: BJP releases names of 131 candidates, retains 85, fields 25 new faces

The BJP under Vasundhara Raje won a whopping 163 of the 200 assembly seats in the state in 2013

The BJP has released the first list of 131 candidates for the 200 members House ahead of Rajasthan assembly elections late on Sunday. As per reports, the party has repeated 85 MLAs and fielded 25 new ones. 26 sitting MLAs have been dropped. The list was announced by Union Minister and secretary of BJP’s Central Election Committee J P Nadda.

The list had given representation to all castes and regions. According to party spokespersons, the list includes 12 women, 32 youths, 17 SC candidates and 19 ST candidates. Candidates for the remaining 69 seats are be announced soon.

Among those detained is Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje’s aide Rajendra Rathore, who is also a cabinet minister. CM Raje had earlier contested from Jhalrapatan in Jhalawar. This time too she has been declared as a candidate from the same seat

- Advertisement - - Article resumes -

Assembly Speaker Kailash Meghwal and Deputy Speaker Rao Rajendra Singh have also retained their candidacy. Home Minister Gulab Chand Kataria and Higher Education minister Kiran Maheshwari, Social Justice and Empowerment minister Arun Chaturvedi and Environment and Youth Affairs minister Gajendra Singh of the incumbent cabinet have also been retained. Co-Operative and Gaupalan minister Ajay Singh, and Urban Development and Housing minister Shrichand Kriplani have also been repeated as candidates.

State Ministers (Independent Charge) who are being repeated as candidates include Amra Ram, Krishnendra Kaur, Primary and Secondary Education minister Vasudev Devnani and Women and Child Development minister Anita Bhadel and State minister for Gaupalan, Otaram Devasi.

Former state BJP president Ashok Parnami has been repeated from Jaipur’s Adarsh Nagar seat while Colonel Sona Ram Choudhary, who is the sitting MP from Barmer, will be contesting from the Barmer assembly seat.

Senior leader and minister, Kalicharan Saraf and transport minister Yoonus Khan’s names has not featured in the first list.

The state leaders including chief minister Raje were in Delhi since the last two days to finalize the list.

Meetings were held at Rajasthan election in-charge Prakash Javadekar’s residence where Raje and BJP national president Amit Shah were also present. Meetings continued during the day on Sunday before the parliamentary board meeting in the evening where prime minister Narendra Modi, Amit Shah and other senior leaders were present.

The decision was taken after the senior leaders undertook a detailed feedback from workers, office bearers, and sitting and former MLAs and MPs.

Rajasthan’s legislative assembly election is scheduled to be held on December 7, 2018, and the result will be out on December 11, 2018. Filing of nominations will begin from Monday and continue till November 19.

The BJP under Raje won a whopping 163 of the 200 assembly seats in the state in 2013, giving the Congress its worst ever drubbing at its hands.

Share and Support:
Support OpIndia by paying for content

Most read articles recently

Statue of all ironies: Pritish Nandy uses example of fake news to spread fake news

Pritish Nandy shared a fake image which was earlier shared by Youth Congress leader

West Bengal: TMC workers ‘purify’ the ground with Gangajal and cow dung after BJP holds a rally in Cooch Behar

TMC workers sprinkled Gangajal after applying cow dung on the ground where the rally was held.

Fact check: Did BJP President Amit Shah and PM Modi call Baniyas cheaters and accuse them of profiteering?

Earlier, Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani had also been accused of making a casteist remark, which turned out to be a Photoshopped image

2018 Assembly Elections: Here are the BJP internal survey numbers

The final results of all states are to be released on 11th December.
Image Source: Zee News

Sidhu knew of the opening before Imran Khan was sworn in, Kartarpur a bigger conspiracy by ISI: Captain Amarinder Singh

Pakistan General Bajwa had revealed the Kartarpur corridor news to Navjot Singh Sidhu even before Imran Khan was sworn in as their PM, Punjab CM Singh indicated “a bigger conspiracy" hatched by the Pak Army.

Uttar Pradesh: Samajwadi party leader detained after being caught on camera assaulting BJP spokesperson

Political leaders who are the so-called representatives of our country have often been seen indulging in such pettiness

Raghuram Rajan backed yet-to-be functional Krea University among 19 new institutes to get ‘Institute of Eminence’ tag

The earlier list which featured yet-to-be-functional Jio Institute was announced, the HRD ministry was mercilessly mocked
Vijay Mallya to be extradited

Big victory for India: UK court orders Vijay Mallya’s extradition who is wanted in India for a Rs. 9000 crore scam

The liquor baron, Vijay Mallya, is wanted in India in connection with an alleged scam worth Rs. 9000 crores and is to be extradited to India.

After stopping BJP’s rath yatra, West Bengal government allows Hindu-hater Bangladeshi Maulana to address meetings in the state

BJP's rath yatra banned, Bangladeshi Islamic preacher welcomed in West Bengal

25 Lakh fake beneficiaries found in Anganwadis of UP, Maharashtra and Assam

The Ministry of Women and Child Development had ordered the survey of Anganwadi Schemes after the crackdown of Assam government on ghost beneficiaries.

Latest articles

Connect with us


Don't miss these