Friday, March 5, 2021
Home Government and Policy 55 countries of the Asia-Pacific group, including Pakistan, endorse India for non-permanent seat at...

55 countries of the Asia-Pacific group, including Pakistan, endorse India for non-permanent seat at the UN Security Council

A major diplomatic win for India.

In a major diplomatic win, 55 countries of the Asia-Pacific group at the UN have endorsed India for a 2-year non-permanent seat at the UN Security Council in 2021/22.

The elections to the non-permanent seats of UN Security Council would be held next year. India is confident of winning the elections.

Syed Akbaruddin, India’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations, tweeted a video thanking the 55 Asia-Pacific nations for their support.

In a tweet, he Akbaruddin shared a video showing the flag of the countries which have endorsed India including Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cyprus, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Fiji, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Japan, Jordan and Pakistan.

India launched its campaign to win the UNSC seat at a meeting of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) at the capital of Kyrgyzstan last month. Former External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj during a meeting said, “The SCO must support the member countries’ candidatures for the non-permanent membership of the UNSC for the years 2021-2022 and 2027-2028”.

After 8 years since the last term, India is seeking re-election into the non-permanent seat of the UNSC. Previously, India has been a non-permanent member of seven terms: 1950-51, 1967-68, 1972-73, 1977-78, 1984-85, 1991-92 and 2011-12.

The United Nations Security Council consists of five permanent members: United States, United Kingdom, China, Russia and France. Along with that, it has 10 non-permanent members elected by the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA).

For several years now, India had been advocating for the expansion of the number of permanent seats in UN Security Council. Reforms had been hindered mainly due to the opposition of  ‘United for Consensus’, a 12-member group that opposes adding permanent members, has used the technicality of preventing the adoption of a negotiating text to be the basis of the discussions and go forward.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Indian Govt should ask badminton coach and Taapsee Pannu’s boyfriend Mathias Boe to quietly do his job or quit

Mathias Boe had tweeted tagging Minister Kiren Rijiju, asking him to do 'something' about the IT raids on his girlfriend Taapsee Pannu

The world praises India as Made-in-India vaccines arrive to help countries start mass-vaccination against Covid

Expressing gratitude, the CARICOM described India as caring country and an example of international cooperation.

India cautions UNSC over weapons of mass destruction falling into the hands of terrorists in conflict regions like Syria

India called for an objective investigation into the alleged use of chemical weapons in Syria and a peaceful resolution of the Syrian conflict.

Anurag Kashyap’s accounts were seized for tax evasion under UPA rule too. Brave dissenter? Netizens ask

As per reports, the I-T raids have unearthed tax discrepancies to the tunes of several hundred crores.

China’s Sinopharm vaccine being developed at a bio-weapons lab operated by PLA, has history of producing sub-standard vaccines: Details

Amidst concerns about the safety of China Sinopharm vaccine, damning disclosures have come out in the public about the lab producing it

‘Freedom House’ downgrades India from ‘free’ to ‘partly free’: Read how it is wholly funded by the US govt and has ties to George...

Freedom House downgraded India based on facts they did not find convenient and a fallacious narrative woven by left and Islamists

Recently Popular

“Are you so creatively bankrupt”? Director of ‘Yeh Ballet’ slams Deepika Padukone starrer new Levi’s ad for plagiarising design ideas

Sooni Taraporevala said that the 'copycat culture' in India needs to be called out and cancelled after the set used in new Deepika Padukone starrer Levi's ad was plagiarised by the makers.

Crores of undisclosed income, unexplained cash receipts and more: IT Dept discovery so far in raids against Anurag Kashyap, Taapsee Pannu

Income Tax department (IT dept) conducted raid on properties linked to filmmaker Anurag Kashyap, actress Taapsee Pannu and others

Her husband used to talk vulgar to girlfriend in front of her: Here is what the lawyer of Ayesha, who jumped into Sabarmati river,...

Ayesha, who committed suicide by jumping into the Sabarmati River in Gujarat on March 1, had a disquiet marital life

Icchadhari protestor Yogendra Yadav finally admits that farmers’ protest is political and is about defeating PM Modi: Read how

Four months after the farmers protest began, Yogendra Yadav has finally admitted that the protests are indeed political

‘Isko maine kaat dala’ – Father beheads daughter after finding her in compromising position, takes the head to police station

After beheading the 17-year-old daughter, Sarvesh Kumar took the head to Majhila police and confessed to the crime

PM Modi and his mother abused live on air by a caller on a BBC radio show on Sikhs in the UK

BBC edited the program and the host offered apology after caller abused PM Modi and his mother during a live radio show
- Advertisement -


Connect with us