Friday, April 12, 2024
HomeEditor's picksLive Updates: West Bengal registers 69.96% voting till 3 pm, Mizoram shows voter turnout...

Live Updates: West Bengal registers 69.96% voting till 3 pm, Mizoram shows voter turnout of 55.2%

We will be updating this article with all the latest information during the first phase of polling today.

Voting for the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections has begun today with people of 91 out of 543 seats will cast their votes to choose their representative in the parliament. Fates of several union ministers along with other heavyweights will be decided today. In the first phase of the General Election, 91 constituencies from Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep go to poll today.

We will be updating this article with all the latest information during the first phase of polling today.

4:30 PM: Republic TV reports attempts of booth capturing at Cooch Behar, West Bengal. Odisha’s OTV reports that booths 6 and 8 in Temurupali under the Mathili block of insurgency-hit Malkangiri district have zero voting due to fear of Naxal attack.

4:00 PM: Voter turnout in Mizoram is 55.20% till 3 pm, Tripura West parliamentary constituency is 68.65% and in West Bengal is 69.94%. UP registers 50.86% voting till 3 pm.

3:00 PM: Voting percentage till 2 pm for the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections as follows: Aurangabad – 36.2% Gaya – 38% Nawada – 39% Jamui – 32.50%

2:15 PM: West Bengal records massive voter turnout. Records polling of 59% till 1 PM.

02:00 PM: 41.27% polling recorded in five seats of Uttarakhand till 1 PM. 8 seats in Uttar Pradesh record more than 38% voter turnout in 8 constituencies till 1 PM.

12:00 PM: Journalists share images and video of food packets from a local restaurant in Noida named ‘Namo Foods’ and insinuate that the BJP has violated poll code. Turns out it was food ordered by the police for the policemen on election duty. SSP Noida clarified that no political party was involved in procuring food. Read about the mischief mongers here.

11:00 AM: 24.32% voter turnout recorded till 11 am in 8 parliamentary constituencies.

10:37 AM: Two women voters were injured as TDP and YSRC workers indulged in stone pelting at Jammalamadugu in Andhra Pradesh’s Kadapa district.

10:00 AM: The Indo-Tibet Border Police (ITBP) and Chhattisgarh Police joint party came under a Naxal ambush earlier this morning. They were on their way to a polling booth near Farasgaon, Narayanpur. As per reports, Naxals triggered an IED which was followed by an ambush by firing on the 60-member team. The ITBP successfully managed to break the ambush.

Read details: Chhattisgarh: ITBP and Chhattisgarh Police joint party come under Naxal ambush while on their way to the polling booth

9:14 AM: Union Minister and Muzaffarnagar BJP candidate Sanjiv Balyan, says faces of women in burkas were not checked and so fake voting was being done.

9 AM: Polling in Uttar Pradesh at 9 AM stands at 13.34%. EC sources say these numbers are better than 2014 numbers. 21% voter turnout recorded in Nagaland till 9 AM has been recorded. 9.83% voter turn out recorded in Lakshadweep till 9 AM.

Ayodhra Ram Mandir special coverage by OpIndia

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Recently Popular

- Advertisement -

Connect with us