Saturday, April 17, 2021
Home Politics Modi Sarkar 2.0: The ones who didn't make it to the council of ministers...

Modi Sarkar 2.0: The ones who didn’t make it to the council of ministers on Thursday

The two prominent faces are that of Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj, both having opted out of the government citing health reasons.

In a grand ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan last evening, apart from PM Modi, 24 Cabinet Ministers, 9 Ministers of State with independent charge, and 24 Ministers of State have been inducted in the ministry. The total strength of the union government is 58.

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s new cabinet has several first-timers, there are few ministers from the 1st term who have not been included.

Among those missing from the Modi’s refurbished Union cabinet, the two prominent faces are that of Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj, both having opted out of the government citing health reasons.

Sushma Swaraj took to Twitter to congratulate PM Modi on his ongoing journey and thanked him for giving her the opportunity to serve people, both Indians and non-resident Indians and for the respect and courtesy extended to her during the last five years.

Sushma Swaraj who sat in the audience to watch PM Modi and his 57-member team take the oath of office and secrecy had changed her Twitter bio to reflect her exit from the government just moments before tweeting her note to the PM.

Arun Jaitley, the Minister of finance and corporate affairs in Modi’s 1.0 cabinet also congratulated PM Modi on taking oath for the second time as the Prime Minister of India and wished all the council of ministers inducted in the Union Council of Minister’s, good luck.

Meanwhile, Uma Bharati, another Union minister in the previous government, also decided not to contest Lok Sabha elections and was also not included in the new cabinet.

Apart from these, there were many surprises in omissions:

Menaka Gandhi: The women and child development minister in the previous government was not included in the newly inducted cabinet.

Jayant Sinha: As MoS in the previous government, Jayant Sinha handled finance and civil aviation portfolios.

Suresh Prabhu: The Minister of Civil Aviation in the previous government was also given a miss.

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore: A former soldier and Olympic medal winner, Rathore was handling that sports and also of information and broadcasting in the previous government.

Radha Mohan Singh: Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare in Modi 1.0 was also dropped by Modi.

Jagat Prakash Nadda: Though in the previous government, JP Nadda maintained a low profile but handled the portfolio of health-implementing initiatives of PM Modi in the sector. Considered to be a strong organisational leader, Nadda is tipped to be Amit Shah’s successor as the BJP president.

Anant Kumar Hegde: Hegde, who won the Uttara Kannada Lok Sabha constituency by over 4 lakh votes and held skill development portfolio in previous government has been dropped too.

Manoj Singh: He was Minister of Communications (independent charge) and Minister of State (MoS), Railways in the previous government. Sinha’s defeat in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Gazipur constituency, Uttar Pradesh, is being attributed to him being given a miss from the newly inducted cabinet.

Anupriya Patel: As an MoS in the health and family welfare ministry, she failed to make a distinct mark during the five years of the previous government.

Among others who were dropped in the new cabinet are Jual Oram of the BJP and Anant Geete of the Shiv Sena.

Meanwhile, the portfolios of the ministers who have found space in the new cabinet will be announced later.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Siddharth Varadarajan of The Wire spreads fake news a day after The Logical Indian apologised for the same: Read details

Siddharth Varadarajan spread fake news again, in fact, the same fake news that the Logical Indians had apologised for just a day ago.

Food grain smuggling into Punjab to make money out of MSP continues, more than 25,000 bags of wheat smuggled from Bihar seized in Bhatinda

Wheat is purchased at the rate of Rs 1,100 per quintal in Bihar and other states and sold in Punjab at around Rs 1,925 per quintal as MSP

Republic Day violence: Hours after getting bail, Deep Sidhu gets arrested by Delhi Crime Branch

Only hours after Delhi Court granted bail to Deep Sidhu in Republic Day violence case, Delhi Crime Branch has reportedly arrested him again

Former Indian Express journalist has an ‘Allah’s virus’ moment, thanks God for COVID-19, says pandemic saved Muslims from detention camps

Irena Akbar, formerly with the Indian Express, has thanked God for Covid-19 and attributed the virus to God's plan.

New York Times provides platform to Islamic bigotry, columnist claims onus to convert is on non-Muslims after Hindu boyfriend refuses to convert

The New York Times on Friday provided platform to Islamic bigotry in a blog where the author narrates her 'tragic' love story.

Panic amid pandemic: Did we get complacent as we thought we got lucky

As India struggles in second wave of coronavirus pandemic, a lowdown of how we all got complacent to the Chinese virus

Recently Popular

Karan Johar’s Dharma Production fires Kartik Aryan, not to work with him again: Here is what happened

Dharma Productions said it was pushed to the wall by “unprofessional behaviour” of Kartik Aryan during shooting of Dostana 2

Aaj Tak to air public apology on 23rd April for sharing fake news on Sushant Singh Rajput, pay Rs 1 lac fine: Details

Aaj Tak has been asked by the NBSA (News Broadcasting Standard Authority) to air a public apology for fake news on Sushant Singh Rajput

Andhra Pradesh man hacks family of six including two children to avenge the rape of his daughter: Details

Andhra Pradesh police confirmed that the incident was a fall out of a old feud between the accused and the victim family

Derek O’Brien’s Clubhouse interaction exposes how TMC fears the prospect of loss in West Bengal: Three statements made and what they mean

Perhaps to fire-fight what Prashant Kishor said, Derek O'Brien appeared on Clubhouse for a short interaction with select 'liberals'.

Kangana Ranaut slams Karan Johar after Dharma Productions fires Kartik Aryan, tells them not to ‘force him to hang himself’ like SSR

Kangana Ranaut has hit out at Karan Johar and Dharma Productions after Kartik Aryan was fired from Dostana 2.

Justice Chandrachud apologises to a lawyer, asks him to go rest since he was fasting for Ramzan

Justice Chandrachud of the Supreme Court apologised to a Muslim lawyer for not knowing that he had been fasting during the month of Ramzan.
- Advertisement -


Connect with us