Sunday, July 14, 2024
HomePoliticsIn a bid to score political point, Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra makes Unnao...

In a bid to score political point, Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra makes Unnao rape victim’s name public

Priyanka Gandhi inadvertently reveals the Unnao rape victim's identity while trying to play political upmanship.

Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra in a bid to score a political brownie points on the Unnao rape case victim’s accident that took place on Sunday, she shared the copy of the FIR on her Twitter account making the name of the rape victim public. Priyanka Gandhi later on deleted the tweet.

OpIndia has blanked out the name of the victim in the video recording of her tweet shared above to abide by the laws of the country.

After deleting her tweet, she posted new tweets urging the BJP to sack BJP MLA Kuldeep Sengar, one of the main accused in the rape case. Sengar is also named in the FIR filed on Sunday on charges of murder and criminal conspiracy.

According to the law, identity of a rape victim cannot be disclosed and those guilty of doing so faces punishment under Section 228-A of the Indian Penal Code. The person who discloses such identity is liable to be punished with imprisonment for a term which may extend up to two years and shall also be liable to fine.

On Sunday evening, when the Unnao rape victim, along with her aunts and lawyer was traveling to Rae Bareli, the car met with an accident. Her two aunts died whereas the girl and her lawyer were critically injured. In a shocking revelation, reports have emerged that the truck which was involved in the Unnao rape victim accident on Sunday evening belongs to a Samajwadi Party leader, Nandkishor Pal aka Nandu Pal. Lal, is a Samajwadi Party leader from Fatehpur district and his wife Ramashree Pal is also a Samajwadi Party leader. Nandu Lal has reportedly denied any conspiracy angle to the incident and insists that it was nothing more than an accident.

Kuldeep Sengar is a BJP MLA from Bangarmau. He had joined BJP in 2017 after a ten-year stint with Samajwadi Party. He had first become an MLA from Unnao Sadar on a BSP ticket. He had joined SP later and had won the Bangarmau seat in 2007 and Bhagwant Nagar seat in 2012. He had joined BJP in 2017 and won the Bangermau seat.

Join OpIndia's official WhatsApp channel

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Recently Popular

- Advertisement -