Sunday, June 16, 2024
HomeNews ReportsGujarat Municipal Elections: BJP wins 47 Nagar Palikas, thumping victory in Narendra Modi's hometown

Gujarat Municipal Elections: BJP wins 47 Nagar Palikas, thumping victory in Narendra Modi’s hometown

In a welcome news for the BJP, the party has won 27 out of 28 seats in the Prime Minister’s hometown, Vadnagar, where it lost the Assembly seat in the recent elections. The BJP had managed to win the Gujarat elections for the 6th consecutive time but the opposition had targeted Modi for his party losing the seat in his own hometown. 74 municipalities in 22 districts went to polls on the 17th of February along with 2 district panchayats and 1423 gram panchayats. Initially, 75 municipalities were supposed to go into polls but the BJP won Jafrabad unopposed. The BJP had won 59 out of the 74 Nagar Palikas in 2013.

The BJP retained Gathda and Dwarka municipalities and snatched Chalala and Dhrol municipalities from Congress. The Congress, in turn, managed to topple the BJP in Salaya municipality. The Congress party scored a thumping win in Rajula municipality in Amreli by winning 27 out of 28 seats where it had won the seat in the previous Assembly elections.

Overall, the BJP has won 47 Nagar Palikas, down from its tally of 59 last time, and the Congress managed to increase its tally to 16 while independents have won 4. After a blip in the Assembly Elections, the BJP seems to have recovered lost ground in the local body polls.

Ayodhra Ram Mandir special coverage by OpIndia

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Recently Popular

- Advertisement -