Tuesday, August 3, 2021
HomeNews ReportsMaharashtra: Shiv Sena likely to name Priyanka Chaturvedi as Rajya Sabha candidate

Maharashtra: Shiv Sena likely to name Priyanka Chaturvedi as Rajya Sabha candidate

The former national spokesperson of Congress had joined Shiv Sena last year.

Shiv Sena leader Priyanka Chaturvedi is all set to be nominated to the Rajya Sabha by the party for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

According to the reports, Shiv Sena decided to nominate party leader Priyanka Chaturvedi for the lone Rajya Sabha seat which it is contesting out of the seven seats that are going to the polls. Chaturvedi is considered to be one of the closest aides of the Tourism Minister and Shiv Sena prince Aditya Thackeray.

Priyanka Chaturvedi, who started her political career with the Congress party in 2010, had quit the party last year over its failure to punish the party leaders accused of misbehaving with her during a press conference in Mathura in 2018. Reportedly, she was also miffed because of the denial of the party ticket to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha election from Mumbai. The Congress party had instead offered the ticket to Bollywood entertainer Urmila Matondkar to contest from North Mumbai seat.

Subsequently, she had quit the party and had joined the Shiv Sena before the 2019 general elections.

Read: ‘Continuing with Congress would compromise my self-respect and dignity’: Priyanka Chaturvedi quits Congress, to join Shiv Sena

A total of 55 Rajya Sabha seats across 17 states will go to the polls on March 26. Out of the seven Rajya Sabha seats that are going to the polls in Maharashtra, NCP currently holds two seats while Shiv Sena, BJP and Congress have one seat each.  The other seats are held by RPI(A) chief Ramdas Athawale and a BJP-backed Independent candidate. With the existing support of allies in Maharashtra, the Maha Vikas Aghadi alliance of Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress are assured of winning at least four of the seven seats due to its numerical strength in the Maharashtra Assembly.

The NCP will contest two seats, its allies Shiv Sena and Congress have settled for one seat each. NCP Supremo Sharad Pawar is slated to retain his seat and NCP leader Fauzia Khan will be another nominee from the party. 

On the other hand, BJP has named Udayanraje Bhosale, Ramdas Athawale, and Bhagwat Karad as its three candidates. The last day for filing nomination is March 13. The counting of votes will take place on March 26 itself after the voting concludes. 

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staffhttps://www.opindia.com
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Has Mumbai Airport been renamed to ‘Adani Airport’ as claimed by Shiv Sena goons? Here is the truth

Opposition politicians have been spreading the misinformation that the Modi government has 'sold' the Mumbai airport to Adani. In reality, Adani Group has acquired the management rights of the CSMIA from the GVK Group after due process.

Not an international tournament; Out of jurisdiction: ICC refuses to take sides in PoK Premier League

BCCI had written a letter to the ICC, asking it to not recognise the dispute Kashmir Premier League that is being organised by PCB in PoK

Recently Popular

- Advertisement -


Connect with us