Home News Reports Several Muslim majority seats vote today, including Rahul Gandhi's 'safe seat' Wayanad and Badruddin Ajmal's Dhubri

Several Muslim majority seats vote today, including Rahul Gandhi’s ‘safe seat’ Wayanad and Badruddin Ajmal’s Dhubri

In West Bengal, four out of five Lok Sabha constituencies that are scheduled for third phase Lok Sabha elections have a majority Muslim population. In Kerala, at least 11 constituencies of out of the total 20, have more than the one-third Muslim population.

As the third phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha election is being held on Tuesday, nearly 30 of the 115 Lok Sabha seats going to polls in the third phase of elections have substantial Muslim population across the states of Assam, Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal.

The high profile seats like Assam’s Dhubri, where 67.4 per cent of the population is Muslims are going to polls on Tuesday along with Kerala’s Malappuram, which has nearly 68 per cent Muslim population. Controversial Muslim leader and All India United Democratic Front (AIDUF) chief Badruddin Ajmal is contesting from Dhubri, which is also the fortress of his party because of the large Muslim population. Ajmal had abused a journalist recently and threatened to smash his head.

Assam’s Barpeta with 52%, Gauhati has 25% and Kokrajhar with 21% of Muslim population will also see polling on Tuesday.

- Advertisement - - Article resumes -

In Kerala, at least 11 constituencies of out of the total 20, have more than the one-third Muslim population. All the 20 Lok Sabha seats of Kerala will be voting in the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 23.

Interestingly, Congress President Rahul Gandhi’s fortunes will also be tested on Tuesday as Muslim majority Wayanad Lok Sabha is also going to polls in the third phase along with the neighbouring Mallapuram Lok Sabha constituency of Kerala, which has nearly 68% Muslim population.

In the Wayanad Lok Sabha seat, the actual demography of the Constituency has Muslims as the majority making up 56% of the electorate while Hindus are only 34%. The Christian community is 9% of the electorate. The constituency comprises of 7 Assembly constituencies drawn from three districts: Thiruvambady from Kozhikode, Mananthavadi, Sulthan Bathery and Kalpetta from Wayanad, Eranad, Nilambur and Wandoor from Malappuram.

Rahul Gandhi, sensing a defeat at the hands of Union Minister Smriti Irani from a Hindu majority constituency had chosen a Muslim majority constituency as the Congress party had decided that securing a victory in Muslim dominated constituency would be much easier than in a Hindu majority constituency.

Ponnani, another minority dominated constituency in Kerala with 64% Muslim population will vote on April 23 in the third phase of Lok Sabha election. Congress ally, the Indian Union Muslim League has fielded ET Mohammed Basheer, who is seeking a third term from  Ponnani. Addition to this, Vadakkara Lok Sabha constituency (34% Muslim population), Kasaragod (32.54 % Muslims) and Kozhikode (37.47 % Muslims) is also going to polls on Tuesday.

Chalakudy has 38% Muslim population, Ernakulam has 39%, Idukki has 42% Muslim population, while Kottayam, Pathanamthitta and Alapuzzha have 45%, 39% and 21% Muslim population respectively.

In West Bengal, four out of five Lok Sabha constituencies that are scheduled for third phase Lok Sabha elections have a majority Muslim population. Malda Uttar has 49.73% Muslim population while Malda Dakshin has 53.46% Muslims. Muslims comprises 63.67% and 58.31% of the total population in Jangipur and Murshidabad constituency respectively.

Abhijit Mukherjee, son of former President Pranab Mukherjee is contesting from the prestigious Jangipur constituency where Muslims form two-thirds of the voters.

Ten Lok Sabha seats of Uttar Pradesh are also scheduled to go to elections in the third phase. Four constituencies- Moradabad (44.78%), Rampur (49.14%), Sambhal (45.54%),  Bareilly (33.89%) have considerable Muslim population. Even Lok Sabha constituencies of Badaun, Aonia, and Pilibhit Lok Sabha constituency have more than 20% Muslim population.

Rampur Lok Sabha is considered to be a high profile as it has been hugely controversial as Samajwadi Party leader Azam Khan is taking on actor-turned-politician BJP candidate Jaya Prada. In Bareilly, one of the strongholds of the BJP, Union Minister Santosh Gangwar is contesting against the Mahagathbandhan of SP-BSP-RLD to secure his eighth term from the constituency.

In Bihar, two out of five seats going to polls have Muslim population, Araria with 41% Muslim votes and Supaul with 18% will go to polls on April 23.

Karnataka’s Bidar – 20% and Dharwad – 19% also have a visible Muslim population while Jalna and Aurangabad in Maharashtra have Muslim voters more than 20% of the population.

Similarly, two seats of Gujarat – Kachh and Bharuch also have a Muslim population of 21%. In Jammu and Kashmir’s Anantnag, where the elections are being held in three phases, has 98 per cent of Muslim voters.

Share This Post With Your Friends & Fans:
We need your support to survive in the media industry. Please consider paying us for the content we produce:

To know more about these payments, please click here.

Don't Miss it: Exit Polls At A Glance

#MakePoliticsFunAgain Catch all the Latest on exit polls results with our summary

Most read articles recently

Here is what may have triggered Rajdeep Sardesai’s own colleague slamming him for being a pliant journalist

Anjana Om Kashyap, one of the Editors of Aaj Tak who conducted that interview interestingly took to Twitter today to castigate what appears to be her colleague, Rajdeep Sardesai.

Read this before you believe the ABP-Nielsen Exit Poll that gave NDA only 277 while others gave a thumping majority

While all other polls were giving a thumping majority to BJP and NDA, Nielsen chose to "customise" their survey and simply delete voter responses were overwhelmingly in favour of BJP.
Ravish Kumar has a mental breakdown as BJP set to form a government at centre, according to exit polls

NDTV journalist Ravish Kumar has a prolonged meltdown on his show after the Exit Polls predicted a landslide BJP victory

Most of the Exit Polls suggested that BJP may be well placed to form another government at the centre

After Anjana Om Kashyap, now Shweta Singh calls out Rajdeep Sardesai’s bias among others

Sweta Singh has called out the blatant bias in the Left media and even Rajdeep Sardesai among others.

Congress must die: Expelled AAP leader and Swaraj India President Yogendra Yadav

Yogendra Yadav said Congress is single biggest obstacle for creating an alternative

‘Journalists’ now use the fall of the Left in Australia to console themselves and insinuate that Modi can meet the same fate

Shekhar Gupta has hinged his argument that exit polls are untrustworthy based on the recent Australian elections, in which conservative coalition registered a victory against popular opinion and exit polls

After 2019 Exit Polls, Congress official handle also says ‘Aayega To Modi Hi’

Looks like after the 2019 Exit Polls predicted a thumping majority for BJP and PM Modi, Congress too is saying #AayegaToModiHi. 

Sensing a possible Modi victory, Rajdeep Sardesai proceeds to discredit his own channel’s Exit Poll even before it is aired

Sensing that PM Modi might just come back to power for a second term, he has proceeded to discredit his own channel's Exit Poll which is yet to be aired.
Congress mouthpiece National Herald concedes defeat amidst the exit polls forecasting another term for PM Modi

Congress mouthpiece National Herald claims ‘moral victory’, says even if Modi wins, he has emerged ‘weaker and diminished’

Congress concedes defeat after exit polls, claims moral victory by saying PM Modi will emerge 'weaker' and 'diminished'.
Subscribe to Day's Top Stories

Latest articles

Connect with us


Don't miss these

Share This Post With Your Friends & Fans: