Tuesday, May 18, 2021
Home News Reports West Bengal: Violence breaks out between TMC workers and followers of Suvendu Adhikari; BJP...

West Bengal: Violence breaks out between TMC workers and followers of Suvendu Adhikari; BJP workers also join in

Suvendu Adhikari, along with other TMC leaders, had recently joined the BJP in presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah during a rally in Midnapore

Days after former TMC heavyweight Suvendu Adhikari joined the BJP, clashes erupted allegedly between his followers and the TMC workers. The violence reportedly took place in Ramnagar area of East Midnapore during a rally organised by Suvendu Adhikari.

As per a Times Now report, BJP workers also joined in the clashes between the TMC workers and Suvendu Adhikari’s followers. The cause of the violence is ascribed to unseemly gestures allegedly made by the participants of Adhikari’s rally while they were passing through the TMC office in Ramnagar. This touched off a minor scuffle between the two sides which quickly escalated into full-blown violence.

The report states that stone-pelting, incidents of physical assault and clashes were witnessed during the violence. At least 3 people have reportedly sustained injuries in the violence.

Suvendu Adhikari joins the BJP in presence of Union HM Amit Shah

The clashes between the TMC side and Adhikari’s supporters come just days after the former TMC leader had joined the saffron fold in presence of the Union Home Minister Amit Shah on December 19. Along with Adhikari, 9 MLAs, an MP, and a former MP joined the BJP at a rally in Midnapore.

Suvendu Adhikari, Tapasi Mondal, Ashoke Dinda, Sudip Mukherjee, Saikat Panja, Shilbhadra Dutta, Dipali Biswas, Sukra Munda, Shyamapda Mukherjee, Biswajit Kundu, and Banasri Maity joined the BJP ahead of West Bengal Assembly elections 2021.

West Bengal politics marred with violence against the opposition and dissenting voices

The spate of violence in West Bengal has become a recurrent theme in the political landscape of the state, especially after the BJP won 18 Lok Sabha seats of the total 42 in the General Assembly elections in 2019. Since then, opposition political leaders are targeted by the TMC leaders.

Recently, BJP President JP Nadda’s rally was attacked by the TMC supporters and in which senior BJP leaders were injured. Besides, other opposition political leaders, who have dared to raise opinions at odds with the incumbent TMC regime have also been targeted, with many of them found dead under mysterious circumstances.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staffhttps://www.opindia.com
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Congress toolkit says party blocked beds in ‘friendly’ hospitals amidst COVID-19 crisis to paint itself as a messiah on social media

Social media is awash with a new toolkit, allegedly created by the Congress party, detailing its plan to extract political mileage.

Congress toolkit exposes nexus between the party and international media, used journalists to peddle anti-Modi propaganda

A new Congress toolkit is circulating on social media that reveals the depths to which the party sank during the pandemic.

Congress cries foul as its bombshell ‘toolkit’ stands exposed, threatens to take legal action

AICC Chairman in a Tweet threatened that a case is being filed against BJP leaders JP Nadda and Sambit Patra for forgery.

Latest Congress toolkit: Paint Kumbh as Covid superspreader, and Eid as ‘happy gathering’. Here are the details

From maligning Kumbh to attacking Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the Central Vista project, working with 'friendly' journalists to get 'tailored' articles defaming India and Modi govt, here is what the Congress 'toolkit' asks its social media and PR teams to do.

Charity ‘toolkit’: How Sonu Sood’s foundation sought help from BJP’s Tejasvi Surya but took all the credit himself

Netizens have often raised suspicions that Sonu Sood had been falsely claiming credit for arranging help for Covid-19 patients without having done so.

‘This is your blessing’: INMAS director whose team developed 2-DG drug thanks his physics teacher Rajnath Singh

Dr AK Mishra, the director of INMAS, stated that Raksha Mantri Rajnath Singh was his physics lecturer back in the 1980s.

Recently Popular

Odisha: Sonu Sood clarifies after Ganjam DM says they had not received any communication from him regarding bed for COVID patient

The Collector and District Magistrate of Ganjam has called out Sonu Sood after the actor claimed to have arranged a bed.

Pakistan based CNN contributor Adeel Raja says world needs another Hitler amidst Israel-Palestine conflict, has history of anti-Semitic tweets

Adeel Raja, freelance contributor at CNN, has said that the world needs a Hitler today amidst the Israel-Palestine conflict.

Vinod Dua’s daughter, who wanted all ‘bhakts’ dead, receives help from a ‘bhakt’ MP while her mother needed critical COVID medicines

BJP supporters lodged their protest about minister chipping in to help the elites in India, when commoners are equally suffering, especially when the elites have not asked for their help.

Haryana: Police rules out communal angle in murder of Mewat youth Asif, two groups are old political rivals. Details

As per police, Asif had beaten up Pradeep's group members 20 days back, and Pradeep decided to avenge the attack.

Assam: Six arrested for disrespecting national flag, accused caught using tricolour as table cloth for Eid feast

An image of Rejina Parvin Sultana, a resident of Assam's Tengnamari village, feasting lunch with her family on the occasion of Eid had gone viral on the internet.

UAE warns Hamas, asks to keep ‘calm’ or lose funding for infrastructure projects in Gaza

Last year, the United States under the Donald Trump administration has helped to broker a peace deal between UAE and Israel in the form of 'Abraham Accords.'
- Advertisement -


Connect with us