Monday, July 26, 2021
HomeNews Reports2019 Lok Sabha elections: 8 constituencies to watch out for as big names go...

2019 Lok Sabha elections: 8 constituencies to watch out for as big names go head to head

Parties have pitched their best names for the first phase of elections covering 91 constituencies.

With the Lok Sabha elections hardly a week away, political parties are all prepped to fight the big battle which will decide the fate of the country as well as of the political parties for the next five years. Like every election season, this one also witnessed some of the big names of politics crossing over from to other political parties in search of a better future. Parties have pitched their best names for the first phase of elections covering 91 constituencies.

Here is a list of the BJP candidates who would be battling big political names like Sonia Gandhi, Akhilesh Yadav and Mulayam Singh.

PM Narendra Modi v Chandrashekhar ‘Ravan’ (Varanasi)

Prime Narendra Modi will be contesting from the Varanasi seat from where he is the sitting MP. No big political party has fielded a candidate from the Varanasi seat yet to contest against Modi. Two other candidates who are fighting from Varanasi are Bhim Army Chief Chandrashekhar ‘Ravan‘ and former BSP soldier Tej Bahadur Yadav.

Dinesh Pratap Singh v Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli)

Dinesh Pratap Singh who earlier a member of Congress Party will be contesting against Sonia Gandhi from Rae Bareli seat. Singh who joined BJP in 2018 has been a two time MLC while Sonia Gandhi has been representing the Rae Bareli seat since 2004.

Dinesh Lal Yadav aka Nirhua v Akhilesh Yadav (Azamgarh)

A very successful Bhojpuri singer, actor and producer Dinesh Lal Yadav who is popularly known as Nirhua, is fighting on a BJP ticket against Samajwadi Party (SP) President and former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Akhilesh Yadav. Nirhua will be started his political career with this Lok Sabha election.

Prem Singh Shakya v Mulayam Singh Yadav (Mainpuri)
BJP  has fielded Prem Singh Shakya against SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav. Shakya who has been with the BJP for about 16 years, will be fighting against Mulayam Singh Yadav from the latter’s stronghold Mainpuri.
Dr Chandra Sen Jadon v Shivpal Singh Yadav (Firozabad)
Dr Chandra Sen Jadon is contesting on BJP ticket from Firozabad seat against  Mulayam Singh’s brother and former SP leader Shivpal Singh Yadav who has left the SP to form Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party-Lohia. Dr Jadon who is a private practitioner will also be fighting against Ramgopal Yadav’s son Akshya Yadav who is contesting from the same seat.
Thushar Vellapally v Rahul Gandhi (Wayanad)
Bharatiya Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) President Thushar Vellapally will be contesting on the NDA against Congress President Rahul Gandhi from Wayanad constituency in Kerala. Vellapally also has the LDF candidate P Suneer contesting from the same seat.
Smriti Irani v Rahul Gandhi (Amethi)
Union Minister Smriti Irani will be fighting against the Gandhi scion who has been Amethi for the last fifteen years. This times Rahul Gandhi has filed the nomination from Wayanad apart from his traditional stronghold Amethi.
Amit Shah v C J Chavda (Gandhinagar)
BJP National President will be contesting from the Gandhinagar constituency in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The seat is currently represented by senior BJP leader Lal Krishna Advani. Congress has fielded C J Chavda from the Gandhinagar constituency against Shah. Chavda currently represents the Assembly seat of Gandhinagar North.

  Support Us  

Whether NDTV or 'The Wire', they never have to worry about funds. In name of saving democracy, they get money from various sources. We need your support to fight them. Please contribute whatever you can afford

OpIndia Staff
Staff reporter at OpIndia

Related Articles

Trending now

Recently Popular

- Advertisement -


Connect with us